If the Rastafarians were serious about embracing their African heritage, why didn't they learn Twi or some of the other African languages instead of making up words like I and I...Iman and forward instead of forward and overstand.
Anybody know why?
yuh really come wid dis fawt bout embrace african heritage and seriousness?
If yuh nuh kno den it is not fi yuh a jus suh it guh.
If you or anybody else was serious bout unno african heritage unno wouldn't creme unno head, run guh a europe every chance unno get, play polo, worship a yt god, dress in a manner given to you by the slave masters, base certain tings pan if dem cyan chat hinglish properly etc etc etc.
why yuh cyaan si de sleepin policeman when yuh approach?
Please don't display your ignorance....polo was not invented by Europeans and FYI while I have done a couple of clinics, I don't play it...I watch it and LOVE it ....get your facts straight.
What's up wid de personal attacks? I could reciprocate you know but you wouldn't like it so let's stick to the topic.
We are discussing Rasta Talk. I have asked a legitimate question.
you are dissing rasta and a chat bout dem seriousness when nobody else is more serious den rasta bout africa. If it wasn't fi rasta none a unno would a pre africa all now. If it wasn't fi rasta unno wouldn't even tink pan a blk jesus yet.
Discussing is not dissing.
If I wanted to diss I would ask why do so many of them have White women but we won't go there today.
It is a legitimate question. Why make up a fake language rather than embracing and learning an African language? If you don't have the answer, that's cool...maybe someone else will.
Muta made a point that the reality of Africa is that if you want to communicate with more people in Africa than you can with English... Rasta should learn French....
Anybody know why?
they? no group on earth is a monolith..several rastafarians may know different african languages depending on where they have settled or plan to settle...some learn the ethiopian amharic language & even hebrew...some swahili;
in either case ALL language is based on "making up words"...as well as as adopting & adapting certain terms...your question is far too simplistic & implies you have not given it any sort of serious thought...
either that or you're trolling
Anybody know why?
afrikkan in hostile environment mixxed upp ann mekk upp wurds cansistinn a wat yuh cawl mekkinn upp wurds cah dem ovatand language iss dynamic ann evolvinn fe suit dem aims.
yuh eva wandar iff iman cum fram iman cah more dan one thirds aff jamaicans were muslims woo were enslaved by dem arabs brothers
they? no group on earth is a monolith..several rastafarians may know different african languages depending on where they have settled or plan to settle...some learn the ethiopian amharic language & even hebrew...some swahili;
in either case ALL language is based on "making up words"...as well as as adopting & adapting certain terms...your question is far too simplistic & implies you have not given it any sort of serious thought...
either that or you're trolling
Come off it with the trolling business..it is a legitimate question. Languages usually evolve organically. People don't set out to make up a bunch of new words. Yes some Rastafarians have learned some African languages but the movement as a whole has not put an empahsis on that...which is surprising. I believe Howell spoke several African languages. Why would he not have encouraged that.
Also why don't we have his speeches? Were none recorded? Then we could check his views on this matter. I am sure he didn't go around saying I and I and I-man.
afrikkan in hostile environment mixxed upp ann mekk upp wurds cansistinn a wat yuh cawl mekkinn upp wurds cah dem ovatand language iss dynamic ann evolvinn fe suit dem aims.
yuh eva wandar iff iman cum fram iman cah more dan one thirds aff jamaicans were muslims woo were enslaved by dem arabs brothers
now foward eva backward neva
Where is the proof that 1/3 of Jamaicans came from areas that were Muslim? I know that some did.
No I am not sure how or when I and I or I-man originate.
Come off it with the trolling business..it is a legitimate question. Languages usually evolve organically. People don't set out to make up a bunch of new words. Yes some Rastafarians have learned some African languages but the movement as a whole has not put an empahsis on that...which is surprising. I believe Howell spoke several African languages. Why would he not have encouraged that.
Also why don't we have his speeches? Were none recorded? Then we could check his views on this matter. I am sure he didn't go around saying I and I and I-man.
the mighty angel GongGuru Maraj/ Howell did encourage the learning of African languages...if the tern "I and I" were so primitive why has it been studied by Phd's?
it has been recognized by some as a profoundly insightful philosophical term...signifying the connection of the one to the all and the all to the one...
you have been bred on the philosophy of the beast so these things may sound like jibberish to your ears
forward instead of rewind to signify that one can never go backward in time...time is always a forward progression...
overstand instead of understand...the people understand a lot of things...so they still stand-under the
dominion of the beast...when we overstand we have risen over the hypnosis and are able to see things for what they are---
in any case word sound is power---language & the way we use words has a part in shaping our consciousness
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.