Originally posted by Tropicana
Queen of Sheba
dr ben seems to have a personal stake in the matter and he espouses one version of events...a version that is also disputed by others...i can't comment on his personal issues...Originally posted by blugiant View Postwat yuh tink bout wat dr ben sed?
the fact is that selassie was the son of ras mekonnen--menelik's right-hand man, cousin & the man many saw as the natural successor to menelik---the fact is that ras mekonnen died young but prepared his son with the thought that he would one day rule ethiopia; ras mekonnen had made contacts with the british & french & brought his son in line---dr, ben mentions tafari's links to the british & french but fails to mention lidj yassu's links to germany---those wonderful philanthropists of africa---not to mention islam;
dr. ben paints lidj yassu as the good guy and tafari as the bad guy based on his perspective---but the story goes much deeper & further;---dr. ben has over-simplified as well as stating certain rumors as outright fact...
it is true what he said about the lion of judah title---it was one used by all ethiopian emperors;
and the solomon-sheba story is subject to interpretation as to how or if it happened---literal or allegorical;
1 Kings 10 &
2 Chronicles 9
Apparentlly she is also mentioned in the Qur'an, but from what my Muslim colleagues have told me, the story is too dirty to be re-printed. I have not read it. I'll take their word for it.10 When the queen of Sheba heard about the fame of Solomon and his relationship to theLord, she came to test Solomon with hard questions. 2 Arriving at Jerusalem with a very great caravan—with camels carrying spices, large quantities of gold, and precious stones—she came to Solomon and talked with him about all that she had on her mind. 3 Solomon answered all her questions; nothing was too hard for the king to explain to her. 4 When the queen of Sheba saw all the wisdom of Solomon and the palace he had built, 5 the food on his table, the seating of his officials, the attending servants in their robes, his cupbearers, and the burnt offerings he made at[a] the temple of the Lord, she was overwhelmed.
6 She said to the king, “The report I heard in my own country about your achievements and your wisdom is true. 7 But I did not believe these things until I came and saw with my own eyes. Indeed, not even half was told me; in wisdom and wealth you have far exceeded the report I heard. 8 How happy your people must be! How happy your officials, who continually stand before you and hear your wisdom! 9 Praise be to the Lord your God, who has delighted in you and placed you on the throne of Israel. Because of the Lord’s eternal love for Israel, he has made you king to maintain justice and righteousness.”
10 And she gave the king 120 talents[b] of gold, large quantities of spices, and precious stones. Never again were so many spices brought in as those the queen of Sheba gave to King Solomon.
11 (Hiram’s ships brought gold from Ophir; and from there they brought great cargoes of almugwood[c] and precious stones. 12 The king used the almugwood to make supports[d] for the temple of the Lord and for the royal palace, and to make harps and lyres for the musicians. So much almugwood has never been imported or seen since that day.)
13 King Solomon gave the queen of Sheba all she desired and asked for, besides what he had given her out of his royal bounty. Then she left and returned with her retinue to her own country.
This was the area of her Kingdom which took in what is now Ethiopia. What is now Ethiopia was sparsely populated then.
Last edited by Tropicana; 01-18-2014, 12:36 PM.
This is the sanitized version:
The story of the Queen of Sheba appears in religious texts sacred to Jews, Christians, and Muslims. Described in the Bible as simply a Queen of the East, modern scholars believe she came from the Kingdom of Axum in Ethiopia, the Kingdom of Saba in Yemen, or both. Their main clue is that she brought bales of incense with her as a gift; frankincense only grows in these two areas. Both countries claim her as theirs. Given that they are separated by only 25 kilometers of water, both could be right.In these tales the Queen of Sheba is a seeker of truth and wisdom and she has heard that King Solomon of Israel is a very wise man. She travels on camel to Jerusalem to meet him and test his knowledge with questions and riddles. With her she brings frankincense, myrrh, gold and precious jewels.
King Solomon has heard of Sheba and her great kingdom.
The Queen of Sheba tests Solomon's wisdom, asking him many questions and giving him riddles to solve. He answers to her satisfaction and then he teaches her about his god Yahweh and she becomes a follower. This is how some Ethiopians believe Christianity came to their county. The Queen agrees to stay with King Solomon as a guest. An unmarried woman, she warns the King not to touch her. He replies that in exchange she should not take anything of his. He has tricked her, however. In the middle of her first night she is thirsty and she takes a glass of water. He confronts her and tells her that by breaking her agreement she has released him from his. They spend the night together and when she returns home from his kingdom, she is pregnant with a son.
She raises her son Menelik on her own. When he grows up, Menelik decides that he wants to meet his father and travels to Israel to meet King Solomon. When he returns, he takes with him the Ark of the Covenant, the sacred container that contained the Ten Commandments. In Ethiopian legend, the Ark has remained in Ethiopia ever since and Ethiopians see Menelik as the first in an unbroken line of Ethiopian kings that stretches into the 20th century.
Sorry even though I disapprove, I have no control over what artists put in their art work either. I am just not that powerful. Feel free to start a thread about the Eurocentric depiction of African people in art. That would be an interesting topic. TOriginally posted by blugiant View Postwood yuh sey da same ting bout da blonde hair blue yeyes jesus?
jesus inspired art ann music butt still noo proof dat imm existed eiddar
We have discussed the proof that Jesus existed NUFF times and I have shared enough references fe bruk dung de board.
Happy to engage about other topics in other threads.
This thread is about the Queen of Sheba, please do not de-rail it.
Tonx.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostSorry I have no control over the image used. I am not that powerful.
you're only powerful enough to keep posting pictures that show sheba to be in arabia;
sheba was in ethiopia not yemen...yemen was a part of the ethiopian empire at the time and they are very close in distance but the queen was from ethiopia