My poor likkle Dottie Lee has had seizures two nights in a row. We both feel wiped out from lack of sleep and the toll it takes pon her. She is the perfect little angel & she got dealt a bad deck of cards. Even with the medication (phenobarbitol) she seems to have them every 2 months. I sure wish there was something more I could do to prevent these wicked seizures. I read where gluten free food helps. Anyone here had any experience with them?
Seizures/Dogs
Re: Seizures/Dogs
(((SchultZ))). I have no experience with the seizures in my own dogs but one dog I watch has seizures if he isn't regularly medicated with pheno 2 x a day and one other drug at night, so not just used during a seizure. He is a bigger dog though so not sure that would work with tiny Dottie.
Poor Dottie and you too.
Sorry to hear Schultz,
I have heard talk that a product named Nuvet Plus for Canines is very good in controling seizures in dogs because of the powerful antioxidants that builds their immune system.
Sorry I cannot be of more help.
It will be interesting to see what happens. I'll ask around too. Maybe sometimes it might be environmental. Lawn care pesticides and such can cause all kinds of nasty problems and yet people still use them. Then they wonder why their dogs get ill. Not you Schultz,I am talking in general here and pinpointing some possible causes of problems.
Another peek into the over vaccinating. All the cancers and seizures and things that pop up today that were unheard of in the not too distant past, where did they come from? I wonder if Dottie was over vaccinated in the past before she came to you Schultz, and maybe now you are suffering the consequences.
I posted this thread a while back but it cannot be read enough so here's a link.
over vaccinating our pets
I am shocked at the amount of seizure dogs I see in the grooming shop! I don't really thing bad breeding practices are the cause either as some of the dogs I know happen to come from diligent breeders.
(((Schultz & Dottie)))
You know Nooks, the pesticide thing could be an issue. I didn't even think about that. I put down weed and feed on the lawn in the Spring. I need to watch that too!
I'm sure she had her puppy shots. Here in this stupid state rabies is required once a year. Can you believe that. It is so stupid....I don't give them their annual DHLP & parvo after they get big. You know Dottie did have her rabies vaccine about 2 weeks ago. We could be onto something here.
Hey you might look into whether a titrate test is allowable as evidence of rabies vaccine. Talk with your vet. In some places they will accept this. The vet can sign the certificate stating that the dog is protected against rabies.
I'd look into your weed and feed ingredients too. Maybe if we do a little research we can find something that will replace what you use with something organic, although I know Peggy who grows organic for farm market cannot use any chemicals at all. I'll give her a ring later today and ask her what she uses for weed control but I think it is pretty much plucking.