as soon as i come home, and he wants to go out and i'm changing my clothes, he herds me out the door by going down on all fours, barking and grunting until i go. then i take him for a run. poor bastard. hasn't even busted a nut yet.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turtledude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Get him something to herd. Hamsters? .....um, Ferrets? no....
rabbits? definitely not. ....rent him out while you're at work? what a pickle! </div></div>
Bettypuss has a mouse under deh somewhere. She's knocked everything over in the chase.
ok...it is now 3 hrs later an she has it cornered. This was an abandoned 200 yr. old adobe house that I'm renting and fixing. Haven't got to this window yet.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> realitee iss dat moas jamaicans feelinn bout dem dawg diffanat dan mzungu luv fii dem dawg</div></div>
Jcans come in all stratas n nuff been loving on dem dawg n tek care a dem dawg betta dan how dem care bout dem workers....u naw see dem a walk wid dem dawg cause u neva able fi go behind dem gate fi see said dawg a prance bout pon di lawn...yaad developments n yaad period, no build fi people walk bout dem naybahood much less walk dem dawg...plus gardener etc job dat was...
people a buy chicken bak n odda pawts by di case fi dem pets wen a one a struggle fi buy big gill a ile r quarta lb a bak fi feed demselves
so dawg loving been going awn..u had di house one diffrant from di guard one long before having a dawg went to be an absolutely necessity </div></div>
Evanovitch,
I came late to this thread (today) and started reading at the beginning and got to your post (above).
That was one of the best said/written/thought out pieces I have read on this board in a long time..
The cultural differences between Jamaican and U.S. residents as regards dogs, cats , pets in general is marked.
I came up believing that all pets, and most living things (mosquito, fly, 40-legs etc. excepted) should be treated at least humanely and pets kindly.
(I also do not include a segment of the general population of human beings in the to-be-treated kindly or humanely category)
My continuing experience when in Jamaica is pity for the animals. The rural and poor Jamaicans have a tough enough life providing for themselves and their families that dogs must serve a utilitarian purpose, are not to be fussed over and not uncommonly, abused, not treated as the abuser would want to be treated.
We are all sort of brother creatures on this little ball floating in amidst billions of stars.
You can go hundreds of light years before you could find another planet as unique and full of life as this one.
Life is so rare in the wide universe
We should treat all life as the rare thing it is.
You can also look at it from the belief-in-God angle.
According to the Bible, God created the heavens and the Earth and eventually got to creating the beasts and the birds and the mosquito and Toto too.
It's His (capital H), His stuff.
Don't mess with it.
Don't abuse it.
He (capital H again) knows if you've been bad or good and ........wait for it......payback is a (female dog).
[quote=Stormmey1]I witnessed in jamaica dogs eating chicken with the bones I grew up being told you do not give dog bones they will choke on it.
Well I witnessed this dog in JA eating chicken and it was like the dog was chewing the meet off the bones and spitting it out. I swear I never saw anything like that and then going back after to munch on the bones that was spit out [/quote
Stormmey,
I don't know if you've ever been to De Buss on Manley Blvd in Negril but they serve a lot of mighty fine jerk chicken and pork. They also have (or had) a yaad full of fat and lazy dogs that LIVED on a near exclusive diet of chicken bones left by the diners. I used to pick up (with permission) from their waste barrel, a lada bag full of chicken bones for my neighbor's dog who didn't often get much meat since his owner was a vegetarian.
Up here I toss all my chicken bones out for the foxes, coyotes, raccoons, skunks and whatever carnivore happens by and I've never come across the skeleton of any fox, raccoon etc clutching their throat in the neighboring woods.
Big/long turkey leg bones do bite down to sharp slivers that could stick in animals throats if they wolf (pardon the expression) their food without chewing the specified twenty times like mother always told you.
But well cooked chicken bones are GENERALLY okay for anything that wants to eat them.
I mean, think about it.
Any animal, any carnivore out in the wild finds and kills and eats other smaller animals.
To my knowledge they do not carefully butcher the animals before they eat them.
They eat fur, guts, genitalia, feces toenails AND most of the bones.
Sometimes the skulls are too tough to crack.
The baby animals though can be a problem.
Like children they get fussy about their food and start refusing the gooier parts of kill their mother brings them.
"I don't like squirrel liver and I'm NOT going to eat it.!"
That sort of thing.
So don't sweat the chicken bones. De dawgs and de puss dem are very happy to get them.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.