Cat people
Re: Cat people
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: FrenchTickla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i saw the ad and think it could work but mi waan smaddy else fi try it.
di funny ting is dat mi nuh tink mi have a good supplier fi mi kitty weed. she nuh go crazy fi di cat nip like other cats i'v known. so she may not be as drawn to it. dunno </div></div>
me want smaddy else try it first too
mine love cat nip though, so i guess that's half the battle
CeaBee, all,
All those cat scratchers that have cardboard for the surface work just fine even without catnip rubbed on them. Cats seem to know instinctively that these items are made for them to claw.
My wife and I sell a similar product but they are double sided, made of Cambara wood and extra heavy duty cardboard which is specially ordered.
You can read up on why cats love these things at our website which also includes a ton of information on why people should not declaw their cats and other interesting and fun facts about cat behaviour.
I would urge everyone who has a cat or plans on getting one to invest in any one of these types of scratch boards. It will save your rugs and furniture.
You can learn about them at www.catscratchbox.com
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: FrenchTickla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i saw the ad and think it could work but mi waan smaddy else fi try it.
di funny ting is dat mi nuh tink mi have a good supplier fi mi kitty weed. she nuh go crazy fi di cat nip like other cats i'v known. so she may not be as drawn to it. dunno </div></div>
FrenchTickla,
Only 85% of cats react to catnip and your cat may be one of that 15% that do not.
I believe that most cats will still be attracted to a scratcher even without catnip as a magnet. It is within their nature to claw and all cat owners should provide a scratching surface of their own choice because otherwise the cat will choose its own and that is usually not to the owners liking.
A cat scratcher is cheaper than reupholstering your chair or sofa.
That said, not all cat scratchers work as well as others. If the scratcher is a vertical one and it wobbles or tips, the cat will fear it if it falls on them.
If it is flat on the floor and too small, the cat can only get his front claws on it and it will move around and the cat may not like that nor get the needed effect.
I know that I see a lot of those fancy carpeted cat scratch towers out at curbside for the trash man and they are not worn at all and it is obvious the cat didn't like them for one reason or another.
My wife and I spent about five years perfecting the one we sell and I can tell you that there is a lot of knowledge of cat behaviour required to make something a cat will like and use regularly.
Most cat toys and cat furniture is made to sell to the human owners. They make them attractive to the humans and don't really care if the cat likes them or not. All they want to do is sell the product which is understandable if somewhat sleazy. For that reason and the fact that cats do differ somewhat in their preferences you will have to experiment.
Start out with the least expensive item and work up until you find what works adequately.
Good hunting.
JC, thanks for that info about the declawing. i had no idea it was that drastic an operation.
i took against my last vet because he freely admitted that he declawed his own pet cat to protect his furniture, and i thought that was a horrible reason to mutilate an animal. he wanted me to consider declawing because he was trying to talk me out of having my cats go outdoors, but i told him otherwise.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">JC, thanks for that info about the declawing. i had no idea it was that drastic an operation.
i took against my last vet because he freely admitted that he declawed his own pet cat to protect his furniture, and i thought that was a horrible reason to mutilate an animal. he wanted me to consider declawing because he was trying to talk me out of having my cats go outdoors, but i told him otherwise.
Mgee,
The biggest reason my wife and I put together our website was to tell people just how inhumane declawing a cat is.
as you discovered it is not just something like cutting their nails it is amputation of the first joint of the cat's toes.
It is our thinking that any cat owner who declaws a cat should not own a cat since they are too lazy or too stupid to understand a cat's nature and have the thoughtfulness to work around the problem which is not all that difficult nor as expensive as mutilating their cat.
If you check out local animal shelters you will find many declawed cats up for adoption and that is because not only did the owners of those cats mutilate them but even then found either that the operation brought up worse habits in the cat and/or that they really were too stupid to understand the basic nature of cats; they finally realized that they could not handle the problem and that they didn't really like cats at all.
I would urge anyone thinking of adopting a single cat (declawed cats are at a serious disadvantage in a multi cat home) to seek out a suitable declawed cat and give them a good home.
They certainly did not have one with the idiot that declawed them.
As for vets who declaw, I would guess that the Hippocratic Oath does not apply to them part of which says "First do no harm".
I personally think that any vet who declaws should have his/her fingernails pulled out with pliers.
I certainly would not use the services of a veterinarian who declaws.
Your vet WAS was correct in saying that your cat should not go outdoors for the many, many reasons listed on our website but to suggest declawing is just stupidity and greed.
Thanks for the post MGee and the opportunity to vent.
alrite alla u ja.com cat people
i read negative reviews of the emery board from other cat people that purchased it.
I still recommend the super scratcher - which give them something else other than u furniture to sharpen dem claws.
My cats are "indoor/outdoor" cats & they STILL try their best to get a "scratch" off my wicker wrapped standing shelves!!
The yard is full of things for them to sharpen claws on, but they seem to like to come in to use my furniture betta!
...a water squirt bottle works on them (if we're home & see them)...maybe they like to use it because it's "natural"??