I am looking for a real pitt.....a big headed nice puppy..I am looking for a puppy where I can see both parents to make sure it is what I am looking for ....Thanks for the help....JP
Where can I get a Real Pitbull?
Re: Where can I get a Real Pitbull?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dreddyjp</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I am looking for a real pitt.....a big headed nice puppy..I am looking for a puppy where I can see both parents to make sure it is what I am looking for ....Thanks for the help....JP </div></div>
Why do you need a Pitbull?
I am not an expert on them and to be honest, I'm a little afraid of them. However, this man's have always looked good to me and get compliments from people who are familiar with them: http://www.rockcitykennel.com/aboutus.htm.
He's West Indian but lives in the US. You can contact him for more info.
"Where can I get a good Pitbull?
Before you purchase a puppy, you need to do more than see both parents. There are so many questions that both the buyer and breeder should be asking each other.
These are some of the questions I would ask a prospective puppy buyer when I used to breed. I am posting this as a guide as to what you would expect from a REPUTABLE breeder. If you are not getting these questions from them, they are run of the mill backyard breeders who may be selling you a walking vet bill, OR...worse yet, a puppy mill!
You really can't be too careful about who you will buy a puppy from! I once sold a puppy to a couple who had gone out of state and bought two dogs. At only 8 months old, one of them had such serious health issues (joint problem) that they had to have it put down. They were traumatized, so was the surviving puppy. Lucky for them I had a puppy the same age that was out on the show circuit but growing a bit large and I sold him to them and they had a happy ending so did the original surviving dog. Now you see, you don't want to buy yourself a heartache. I also see dogs at the grooming shop from puppy mills that are on lifelong meds for a variety of conditions, and the expense the people pay is astronomical... not to mention most of the dogs are a mess physically and sometimes mentally as well. The well meaning owners, who just "wanted good puppy" felt it was their duty to do right by the <span style="font-style: italic">poor thing</span> and spend a decade or more and thousands of dollars taking care of a sick dog, when if they had done their homework, could have gotten a healthy specimen from a reputable responsible breeder! What is their alternative? Sadly, it is often euthanasia of the beloved pet. Other times it is having to place them with a rescue organization or shelter because the new owners cannot afford the high cost of regular required "special" care. If the "special care" ends up prohibitive the poor animal is put down anyway. It's such a viscous circle..
Puppy buying is not to be taken lightly, and if you do find a good breeder who hasn't got anything available at the moment, they would more than likely try to find you one through their many contacts (it's what good breeders do), or by your own request, you could be placed on a waiting list for future breeding's.
The questions would be over the phone, before I would even let a prospective buyer on my premises...
Why do you want to get a dog?
WHY do you want a Pitbull?
How many people live in your home? Is everyone on the same page and want a dog? (I NEVER EVER, under ANY circumstances, sold a puppy as a surprise present. If it was a gift, the giftee HAD to be there, period.)
Have you had dogs before?
If so, what has happened to them?
Do you have any dogs now?
Do you own your home or rent? (I never sold a puppy to a renter, ever!)
Is your yard fenced? Is the fencing secure? No fence? No Puppy!
Are you willing to take a session of obedience at a dog training academy? (answer no? no puppy for you!)
Spay neuter is a MUST> NON NEGOTIABLE!
Contract details are discussed. In my contracts there was a stipulation that if, for any reason whatsoever...if the buyer cannot keep said puppy during it's lifetime, that puppy will come BACK to breeder(me), with no refund given. (I did make exceptions to this such as dire circumstances, but that fact was not disclosed at the time of purchase! Ultimately, a breeder is responsible for the puppy from the moment of conception, throughout the lifetime of the pet!
but the bottom line is...LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP, A PET IS FOR KEEPS! And I made sure of this as I could, before I let a puppy go. People would always joke about how it was harder to get a puppy from me than to adopt a child and well...that is the kind of breeder you WANT when looking for a puppy.
Once I cleared this information over the phone, if I still felt the prospects were good, I would let them come see my puppies.
This is the kind of behavior you want to see from a breeder.
<span style="font-weight: bold">YOUR QUESTIONS should be:</span>
(BTW) seeing both parents is not always possible. Many reputable breeders go off site for breeding stock and semen is often collected by a licensed certified veterinarian and overnight shipped all over the place. I'm here to tell you, that you would rather have this practice happen and be assured that if people go to this expense and hassle, you are probably getting a very good and healthy animal and the chances that you are actually buying a father daughter or brother sister <span style="font-style: italic">WHOOPS!</span> just went down 1000%.
Are the parents health screened for genetic faults? (EVERY breed is pre-disposed to certain conditions, some of which are life threatening, even fatal) Familiarize yourself with some of the genetic faults for the breed. Some breeds need eye testing some need to be tested for hip dysplasia. I am not an expert on Pitbulls, so not positive of the screening they require. Here is a good place to start looking...
Hereditary dog diseases
Never, under any circumstances, buy a puppy from a breeder that won't let you come to their house. Don't take ANY excuses as to why you can't go there. As a novice buyer, you want to be able to "go there". You want to see where the puppies were raised, what is the environment? Is is spotless? It doesn't have to be a showcase, it needs to be clean and smell good. You need to see ALL of the dogs that live there!
I once went with a prospective buyer to a kennel she found in central Mn. I didn't have any puppies and told her I'd help her find one. The place was beautiful, it was immaculate...and the dogs all look great! The woman was thinking of purchasing a puppy but I cautioned her to think on it and look around...as we were leaving I heard some whining coming from a garage on the property! I asked what the whining was and the answer was..."Oh I have a few dogs in the garage". OH REALLY??????...of course the next thing out my mouth was I wanted to see them!
There were dogs in the garage that had no hair! Well, of course she was trying to hide them. Her dogs had skin problems, and skin problems are sometimes hereditary and sometimes FATAL. I know this as I lived it with a Weimeraner years ago, and a blue Doberman some years later. Which brings up a next good point. Steer clear of dogs that are not of their normal coat color. Example, the Blue Dobermans and MinPins (Using this breeds as it is breeds I know). They come on a wide variety of colrs, including that gray/blue) it's a color caused by a dilute gene and a lot of breeds either won't allow showing dogs that are gray, even though they can be registered, because of the fact that the graying gene is not o wonderful...and look for dark pigment around the nose and eyes.
So, if you hear "this color is rare"...RUN, don't walk> In this case RARE=BAD.
Temperament is indeed very important! Don't take the first puppy that comes running to you! It is more than likely the most rambunctious of the litter, and could very well be that way for it's life. Don't take the one hiding in the corner either, middle of the road is good in this situation!
So now you have some things to think about. Think about when is the most the optimum time for getting your new family member. Find a time when you/and family will be around the most and things are the least hectic. Getting a new puppy is exciting! It is also a commitment, a decade and then some. The rewards of the bond is priceless.
Good luck!
That dahJah, always mek joke.
I forgot to leave this link...
I only found it on google, but it looked like a good start. When I started I went to my local kennel club.
pitbull breed info
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A hope when yuh fine him nuh nyaam yuh tuh.
why you haffi gwan so sample?
di person want what dem want.
aye sah
Nannook thanks for the information along with everyone else....I just like pits I have 2 of them in the states and I want one for my home there.....my girl actually wants a good dog and I have in the past had Rotts but at this time in life I feel a pitt is more suited for my home.....I have had dogs all of my life and feel that my pitts are prob the best dogs I have ever had...smart loyal and raised with love they are great.....I have saved several mongral dogs in jamaica thru the years and liked them alot ...but now is the time for a good house dog to protect my girl when I am away and I feel this is what I will be looking for .......Thank You all for the Help....JP.........By the way I am looking for this dog in Jamaica....not in the U.S.
Good luck finding a good dog! I did see in the one link, as I got interested and started reading...that the merle color is not favored upon. Merle has gray, so do stay away from that color. Skin problems may abound. May not, but the chance is great.
I didn't catch the US/Jamaica thing! I imagine your best bet would be to start with the JKC (Jamaica Kennel Club). I found the website not working with my browser tonight, not sure if is me or them. However, here is a Gleaner article that may give you a start...
JKC Gleaner article