di male dawg a gwane like duppy bax him...him juss wi run fi no reason...one fassss gallop tru di house...him eida run go eena him bed, up eena a easy chair r run go jump pon mi bed...if mi no feed him by hand him wont eat...him stawt dis fawt since him come bak from being groomed....an him a yap juss fi yap sake...HELPPPPP
Tanya n Nanook, come yah
Re: Tanya n Nanook, come yah
i am serious..i am worried about this behaviour...i am going to call di vet...it is too freaky...he wont eat an dis running around is not normal...him juss shoot wid di running..fi real...mi no know whe fi do...den him stop brap an scratch...mi no know if a me a mek him gwane maddy maddy r if him a try mad mi...a nite time is like speedy gonzales upstairs a run from di cyote...even him sists siddung an look pon him as if him mad
Re: Tanya n Nanook, come yah
I wondered about the groomers products could be an issue.
Do you see any visible redness or swelling?
Do you have any cortisone spray for bug bites in your house? (you can use the peope kind, it is all the same stuff)...You could try spraying him with that (it is like benedryl spray) and see if that helps.
Also, dogs get pollen reaction this time of year. My Dobergirl is having a bout at this very moment. She has itching on top of her back, and thin hair there. I can feel small bumps of allergy....do you see anything like this on your dog?
Rosie takes to rolling on her back out in the grass to help alleviate the itching.
I use a special shampoo and benedryl on her but this is because I am positive it is a contact allergy.
i did a walk in to the vet today...he agreed that his eyes
were dull..says that could be because of pain an wondered if he had had his neck yanked at the groomer since he would not allow eida of us to touch around dat area
den dem seh him gland in him rectum needed to be expelled...so now mi gi him painkiller by mouth once an mi get anti-depressant fi him
Re: i did a walk in to the vet today...he agreed that his eyes
Well....now you know where NOT to go for the grooming. Anal glands should be part of the groom, and:
There is no excuse for him to have a sore neck. Don't go back there!
I started wondering earlier if he might be having an allergic reaction to some weeds or greenery, now that his hair was short and not there to protect his skin from closer contact. I also started to wonder if he was wearing a flea collar. (they can cause all kinds of reactions/even death).
Sorry to hear his little neck is sore!
Ahhhh...well, good luck!
If the pills are tiny I put them inside a meat something and stand watch to make sure they go down. If they are extra small, even a little butter might work.
They make a pill paste but I find it messy and normally just use what is in the fridge, cause they will usually readily eat it.
The only trick is, to make sure they swallow the actual pill and not spit it out after swallowing the food pawt.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">were dull..says that could be because of pain an wondered if he had had his neck yanked at the groomer since he would not allow eida of us to touch around dat area
den dem seh him gland in him rectum needed to be expelled...so now mi gi him painkiller by mouth once an mi get anti-depressant fi him</div></div>
I use the groomer at the vet's office. They express the anal glands, bath him and cut his nails.
I put Barney's heart worm pill in peanut butter. He eats it right up. I have used cottage cheese with my dogs in the past to give pills. It usually works well.
They should expel the anal glands every time you get your dog groomed. That is SOP.
As for pills, I don't even have time to play around. I shove it in the mouth, clamp it shut with my hand, turn the head up, and rub up and down on the throat. They always swallow under those circumstances.
It may seem a little inconsiderate, but I really don't have all year to screw around with it and it's over in under a minute.