an nipping at their legs...help...so far he has not broken skin but why is he doing this...a nayba came over to chat to me an as she crossed out lawn, he came out n ran for her legs....this worker came today to spray the trees, etc for insects for me, and he went for his legs...if he gets out n sees people it would seem he rushed up nipping at them...i am scared he will bite some one n they will want me to put him down...i am going to talk with his vet about this because this is a fairly recent thing...
Nanook and Tanya....my male baby is running up to people
Re: Nanook and Tanya....my male baby is running up to people
Sorry to hear your little guy is giving you this problem! Pretty much all I can tell you is to keep him on a leash or in a enclosed pen. If you don't want to put up a whole kennel you can get portable exercise pens:
example site here
I use several of these for a small dog yard for my old dogs, and also when I travel. They fold up and are very portable.
In addition, it sounds as though obedience on-lead training is in order. There is an exercise we do that is named "re-call". You start by having your dog sit, then STAY. Then give the command "male baby COME!", while pulling the lead and bringing the dog to your front, then command the sit. He will learn to do this automatically after practice and you won't have to pull on the lead anymore. Later you can add a longer lead, and repeat until you are certain he will COME to you when you call him, everytime. Some trainers do not advocate treat training but I am among the ones who do, especially with the smaller dogs. Whatever works, I advocate because you are right, something bad could happen if he does bite someone and especially if he breaks skin.
If at all possible, you might want to sign up for a beginners obedience training class in your area. I know you are very busy right now but first chance you get, it would be a good idea. I am taking Paris as soon as she gets her hair cut so that I can use her for a therapy dog in nursing homes and such.
Now, as long as I'm here I would caution you against using pesticides in the yard, and if you do...I wouldn't have the dogs outside while the application is being sprayed for sure, or near the area for awhile. Danger lies in those chemicals.
I don't have any advice to give as far as correcting the behavior other than as Nanook said about training but I do have a joke to share
I used to have a dog similar breed to yours and she was very overprotective of me (my fault) so yes she used to bite people. lucky for me she had a bad overbite do never broke skin.
One day we went to this likka store across the road from the apartment. it was kind of a grimey place but cheap. Wi walk out and this BIG BIKER guy (hells angel) had just pulled up on his Harley. He comes over and says how cute she is and bends down to pet her.
He was wearing those baggy crotch gym pantslike these.
Next ting mi know Lady jump up an bite di man right between his legsif you coulda seen the dog hanging in the air off di man crotch
mi seh mi life flash before mi eyes
only ting save wi was is only the pants shi ketch
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I don't have any advice to give as far as correcting the behavior other than as Nanook said about training but I do have a joke to share
I used to have a dog similar breed to yours and she was very overprotective of me (my fault) so yes she used to bite people. lucky for me she had a bad overbite do never broke skin.
One day we went to this likka store across the road from the apartment. it was kind of a grimey place but cheap. Wi walk out and this BIG BIKER guy (hells angel) had just pulled up on his Harley. He comes over and says how cute she is and bends down to pet her.
He was wearing those baggy crotch gym pantslike these.
Next ting mi know Lady jump up an bite di man right between his legsif you coulda seen the dog hanging in the air off di man crotch
mi seh mi life flash before mi eyes
only ting save wi was is only the pants shi ketch
wat a hell if di man balls did get bite...mi mummah...u know him woulda did sue u fi him balls...
mi juss come bak from di vet...di dawg a go bruk di bank...couple weeks bak it was anti depressant pills...today mi notice him had dried dodo pon him tail an him was shuddering...mi grab him an run to di vet...now mi haffi a gi him anti-biotics plus dis milky ting fi coat him stomach,..now di female vex cause di male a get all di attention....an mi haffi a steam all ovah di house aldoah no dodo no inside mi juss wan fumigate tru mi sista
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mi juss come bak from di vet...di dawg a go bruk di bank...couple weeks bak it was anti depressant pills...today mi notice him had dried dodo pon him tail an him was shuddering...mi grab him an run to di vet...now mi haffi a gi him anti-biotics plus dis milky ting fi coat him stomach,..now di female vex cause di male a get all di attention....an mi haffi a steam all ovah di house aldoah no dodo no inside mi juss wan fumigate tru mi sista </div></div>
yes dem need fi mek house pet tax deductible
Evan do you do command training with them daily? I am thinking like 5 mins in the AM and 10 mins in the PM .. The male may need to realise you are still head of the pack?If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.