Good luck with that! I can only imagine...but since I do take my farm dogs to town occasionally and walk them, I always take a baggie and a paper towel <span style="font-style: italic">"just in case".</span>.but my dogs are shy and not used to doing the deed in the city so they don't/won't! Nope, neither Rosebud nor Paris has ever pooped in town.
Oh, and PS...it seems that the "Flexi lead" is the stupidest contraption I have ever seen. If the owner knows how/when to reel in the dog, then fine, but most dogs on flexi's are out of control that I've seen. I walk my dogs on a 6 foot lead, I would never want them farther away from me than that in the city!
IF the owner using the flexi does have control and is courteous, that's another thing. Sadly, most don't have a clue.
I feel your pain. There is a HUGE Lab down the road that is loose in his yard a lot of the time. The problem is, when he hears me coming on scooter, he comes with teeth baring barking like a mad dog! Last time I got up the road a piece and called 911.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Please be considerate of us runners and pull in your dog when unnu see wi running dung the same path unnu walking unnu dogs on.
Gadamitafterall!
Plus mi nuh want mi Brooks get nasty up wid dog do-do
Take it up with the local park service and mek sure yuh vote for more doggie runs in your neighborhood
p.s. I clean up after my dog and so do *most* of the folks who use our nearby trail. Soh, which pawt of di city yuh run?
Peasie and Nanook. I run on a 7 mile long trail that is used by runners, bicyclists, walkers, scooters, and roller bladers. It is a beautiful trail that winds through city parks and into a lonely stretch with corn fields on both ends. Often times I'll see folks walking their dogs on those flexi leashes and the pooches are usually not controlled and I have to yell loudly, jump into the side bushes.. scratching my arms and legs.
The dog owners appear to be totally clueless! Today one man walking 4 dogs (well dem a drag him) and even though he was looking at me point blank he did nothing to pull his dogs out of the path way. Mi not a bad wud cusser but mi did come close when him a tell me sey "oh they won't do anything to you".
Might I add last Tuesday some kids threw rocks at me as I ran through one park I am close to lodging a complaint with the city park administrators.
That would irritate me to no end as well. It sounds to me like some phone calls are in order to the park people, you shouldn't have to put up with that. Sadly, the majority of dog owners are clueless. If somebody were ever to yell to me "they won't do anything to you" without reeling them in? Well that....would be when I'd probably start going ballistic.
Better you just make the calls and stop the behavior so you can enjoy your runs. Let us know how it goes!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Might I add last Tuesday some kids threw rocks at me as I ran through one park I am close to lodging a complaint with the city park administrators. </div></div>
When I'm walking my dogs, if someone is running in front of me and especially coming up behind me, I move off the path and make my dogs sit until they run/walk by.
Common courtesy.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.