<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
and all mi a seh is dis dawg a walk round embarassed </div></div>
Aww. Poor pup. Poor Clancy.
This thread is useless without pictures! I love to see trim gone bad pics. I bet Mr. Kia no bawl about the price of a groom now that he found out how hard it is, huh.
Awwwww Clancy, it will be Ok, Mommy will bring you to the groomer who won't take video's of your experience and she/he will even express your anal glands!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Awwwww Clancy, it will be Ok, Mommy will bring you to the groomer who won't take video's of your experience and she/he will even express your anal glands!
Thanks for the smiles Kia, big fun. Funny Clancy. </div></div>
It was hard for me to capture how he really felt about it without the video
poor puppy
needless to say we gave him a great treat!
LOL. Poor Clancy. I'm a sorry groomer too so I take Butterfly to folks who know what they are doing. I shampoo her as needed but cutting clearly is not my thing either lol.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">PS, I love Clancy's bracelets. If Paris wasn't white she would have them. </div></div>
thank you Nanook! MrKia was trying to be frugal but as he does not have the machine to pluck Clancy's ears we will always need the groomer
Next time I guess he will look up on how to groom that area in general
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tulip</div><div class="ubbcode-body">LOL. Poor Clancy. I'm a sorry groomer too so I take Butterfly to folks who know what they are doing. I shampoo her as needed but cutting clearly is not my thing either lol. </div></div>
Yes I can shampoo but do leave the grooming to the professionals
thank you Nanook! MrKia was trying to be frugal but as he does not have the machine to pluck Clancy's ears we will always need the groomer
Next time I guess he will look up on how to groom that area in general </div></div>
Well, you can tell Mr. Kia that I hang around a grooming shop a lot, and have been practicing for a year on poodle hair under tutelage and I still can't do it without help on the head (it is trickier than it looks), and Paris's neck, especially.
What it is, is hair sculpting, creating an illusion. The hair needs to be clean and stick straight to cut it correctly. Cutting curly poodle hair will only result in butchering hair, trust me.
It can be done at home though. have Mr. Kia order a grooming table (price point is almost endless but figure a 100.00 minimum for a folding table), a grooming arm, 50-60.00, some good quality scissors 50.00 to hundreds), a pair of clippers (good cordless=150.00) Regular around 100.00 not cordless, but then you need several size blades which are around 25.00 each.
OK, so we have the cutting tools and a table...
Now go buy a dryer, around 300.00-600.00 depending on what you get and you get what you pay for in this just like any other thing. You simply can NOT get the hair dried <span style="font-style: italic">STRAIGHT</span> without a good dryer, though I have heard of people using a shop vac backwards but it will take you around 6 hours..
Here's what you can do Kia, go on Pet Edge website and put all those things in your shopping cart, and then ask mr. Kia if he is gonna save much money doing home grooming. You need ALL of those things to do home grooming, and...you also need a pair of nail trimmers or a dremel.
As for anal glad expressing, it is easy peasy, just lift up the tail and give the glands a squeeze. Cover your hand though, as it can spray everywhere!
Good luck Kia..
edit to add. PS...pluck ear hair, you can get ear powder and pour in a small amount in the ear. This gives the hemostats something to grip on. I just go with the simple hemostats though I like needle nose pliers handles since they are soft and padded, and I don't bother with ear powder. You have to dig waaaay down inside the ear to get at the hair. When done clean with ear cleaner and swab out any dirt. In a few days to a week, clean the ears again, in case you stirred up any kind of yeast while pulling the hair. walla, plucked poodle ears.
Mr. Kia will be on the phone dialing the grooming shop lickety split when you start reading the part to him about anal gland expression, then go on to ear cleaning and show him the pet edge shopping cart.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.