cayote
Re: cayote
I've seen quite a few coyotes in my yard and we also get fisher cats which do not fish and are not cats see:
http://www.google.com/search?client=safa...-8&oe=UTF-8
We also have a pair of great horned owls in the surrounding woods which are fairly big birds and which are potentially dangerous to smaller cats out at night.
Our cat whom we've had for close to ten years now was an occasional visitor to our deck and one day showed up with a big chunk out of his shoulder.
We ran him over to the vet who stitched him up and said he had survived a coyote attack and was lucky to be alive.
Fisher cats also kill and eat house cats or any cat that it catches outside.
Cats can't escape them because they climb trees better than cats can.
We just had our cat to the vet for his regular rabies shot and there had to be at least eight "missing cat" notices up at the vet's bulletin board.
The odds of these cats ever being found is very small.
It's a normal predator-prey thing so if you have either coyotes or fisher cats in your area, not keeping your cat(s) indoors, is an eventual death sentence for your pet.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is choo dat one deh nuh big, dat a de regulah size, <span style="font-weight: bold">mi chase one wid mi chuck</span> early one mawnin and I couldn't believe de size a it. I took a pic a it wid mi fone but it neh come out good, it was as big as a german shepherd. </div></div>
@ the visual
Gungo de ting tear up mi gyabbidge. Suh mi guh fi glove an stawt clean it up an supm seh cyaar it all back inna de garage. So I did. When mi finish and guh eenside fi wash mi hand dem come back out put de gyabbidge back out deh an get inna mi veekle, den mi seem a de enn a mi driveway a look pan mi like him a seh "yeh a mi place dis an wah yuh goin duh bout it"
Suh mi launch de chuck aftah him an stop an den him stop tuh look pan mi a grin.
Suh mi tek off aftah mi an him a run str8 dung de rd I almost mek de veekle touch him but mi decide jus fi put nuff fear inna him. Mi chase him dung two street till him jump inna one ditch an mi haven't seen him since.
Probably outdeh a mek big plan fi mi all now
Wow. They are bold.
From a manual developed by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation and Cornell University, you did the right thing by aggressively scaring him off
The other thing is that when you see them in the day, it means they are very used to humans and will get even bolder.
<span style="font-weight: bold">You should coyote-proof those trash cans or else keep them in your garage with the door closed.</span>
<span style="font-weight: bold">Some Vewwy Scawwy Tings:
Some coyotes in suburbia have lost their fear of people. A coyote who does not fear people should be considered dangerous. The foods they find in residential areas (garbage, pet food, pets) are full of human odors, so these coyotes quickly learn to associate food with people. That's bad. Many people become frightened when they see coyotes, and run into their homes. That's even worse. To a coyote, that person has just behaved like prey (running triggers their attack response). In short, food smells like people and people behave like prey. Add to the mix people intentionally feeding coyotes, and the potential for a coyote attack becomes very real.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Certain changes in coyote behavior seem to indicate a growing risk that coyotes will become aggressive toward people</span>
(based on studies of coyote-human conflicts in California). The signs are shown in the order they usually happen.
During the night, coyotes kill more pets than they did before
During the night, coyotes are seen on streets and in yards more often than before
Coyotes are now seen in those areas during the day, especially early morning and late afternoon
During the day, coyotes chase or kill pets (previously, only a night-time activity)
During the day, coyotes kill pets that are on leash (previously, they only took free-roaming pets), or chase joggers and bikers
At midday, coyotes are seen near children's play areas
Coyotes are generally nocturnal, so increasing daytime activity is often a sign that those animals have become used to people. Such boldness should be taken seriously. The California study suggests that if the situation is addressed before pet attacks are common, further problems can probably be avoided.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Many people become frightened when they see coyotes, and run into their homes. That's even worse. To a coyote, that person has just behaved like prey (running triggers their attack response). In short, food smells like people and people behave like prey. Add to the mix people intentionally feeding coyotes, and the potential for a coyote attack becomes very real.