Oh Nooo, My roof is leaking where the skylight is... I don't know how it happen or what's wrong.. doe-s anyone have any do it yourself home remedies, I don't want to come out of pocket if I don't have to for a roofing company to fix it. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] I went to go plug up the treadmill and saw a puddle. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70367-help.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70367-help.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70367-help.gif[/img]
Oh Nooo, My Roof, Help!
Re: Oh Nooo, My Roof
You need to call a roofer. You should be able to find someone in your yellow pages who fixes emergency leaks. I had the same problem at the end of July. The ply wood had to be replaced and if that wasn't done it would have caused extensive damage.
Good luck.
You need to call a roofer. You should be able to find someone in your yellow pages who fixes emergency leaks. I had the same problem at the end of July. The ply wood had to be replaced and if that wasn't done it would have caused extensive damage.
Good luck.
Thank you, reckon I'll get on it tomorrow & hit the yellow page-s... Hope they don't try to ring out my pocket-s. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
most likely it needs to be sealed. had a bit of a roof situation myself with the eaves and a flooded basement. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img]life is good yeh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Well thank-s Sue, that sure make-s me feel better. I called today... Look like somebody gone be a FEW FEW FEW EXTRA dollar-s richer [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img] , & it ain't gone be me. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
[/ QUOTE ] or is a u get it put in, u should see if u had a manufactors warrenty pon it, and den go and see if the company will fix it. if its still warrenteed, den a free fixings..
store warrantee and deeler warranty a noh de same ting..
the store mighta give u 2 years, while the dealer give u 25 years.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Well thank-s Sue, that sure make-s me feel better. I called today... Look like somebody gone be a FEW FEW FEW EXTRA dollar-s richer [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img] , & it ain't gone be me. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
[/ QUOTE ]or is a u get it put in, u should see if u had a manufactors warrenty pon it, and den go and see if the company will fix it. if its still warrenteed, den a free fixings..
store warrantee and deeler warranty a noh de same ting..
the store mighta give u 2 years, while the dealer give u 25 years
You most certainly need "flashing",that is the name of the unit used to water tight the space between the existing roof and the sky light.
usually the problem is at the higher end of the skylight.
You may need a roofer to install it.
If you tell him that you think that the flashing may need to be replaced,he will realize that you have an idea that it won't sost too much.
Otherwise the reason why it is leaking may be that some one 'sealed it' without installing apprppriate flashing.
f;lashing works just like shingles. If properly installed,they las as long too.
Yes and every skylight needs it...and it does not cost too much to install.
You most certainly need "flashing",that is the name of the unit used to water tight the space between the existing roof and the sky light.
usually the problem is at the higher end of the skylight.
You may need a roofer to install it.
If you tell him that you think that the flashing may need to be replaced,he will realize that you have an idea that it won't sost too much.
Otherwise the reason why it is leaking may be that some one 'sealed it' without installing apprppriate flashing.
f;lashing works just like shingles. If properly installed,they las as long too.
Yes and every skylight needs it...and it does not cost too much to install.
Thank-s Dr. Dudd, very helpful info. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70459-hugs.gif[/img] Since they won't be available till tuesday... I can call around some more, pitch in my new info and see what offer-s they give me. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
there's some silicon that comes in a tube - probably can get it at Home Depot - when i was in Atlanta - every one had a tube of it - 'cause no matter what - the skylight would leak - finally builders started putting them in the bathroom - right over the tub [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Hi AfroCLady
How did the roof fixup go? Was it an arm and a leg? Just new flashing? A new skylight?
Funny thing my skylight shattered one year while I was talkig to a boardite for the 1st time [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] Learned many of the home improvement stores that will sell you the skylight wont install it.. so you need a skylight guy [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Funny thing my skylight shattered one year while I was talkig to a boardite for the 1st time
which boardite? juss soh mi noh mek di mistake fi call har [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]