[img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] I received this in email this morning. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]
Target stores may have the latest designs, but their aisles are filled with products made with polyvinyl chloride (PVC), a plastic made from chemicals linked to cancer. Find out how you can help get this dangerous plastic out of Target stores - and your own home!
Watch the fun new animated detective spoof, "Sam Suds and the Case of PVC, the Poison Plastic."
PVC, also known as vinyl, is one of the most hazardous consumer products ever created. It is dangerous throughout its entire lifecycle - from production to use to disposal. And PVC is commonly used in packaging, shower curtains, shampoo bottles, some children’s toys, home building materials, car interiors, and thousands of other products we use every day.
Companies like Wal-Mart, Nike, Microsoft, Ikea, H&M, Crabtree & Evelyn and Johnson & Johnson have all started to phase out dangerous PVC toys, shower curtains and/or other products and packaging. Now it's Target's turn!
How can you help? Start by learning more at: http://go.care2.com/e/kc0A/wAh/euNU
Why should Target find safer alternatives to products made with PVC? Here are just a few examples of how PVC is bad for our health, bad for our environment, and bad for our communities:
PVC contains toxic additives, which can off-gas or leach out. And studies show that chemicals used or released during the PVC lifecycle, such as mercury, dioxins, and phthalates, can cause cancer, reproductive and immune system damage, and asthma. These chemicals may pose irreversible life-long health threats, particularly to children.
PVC cannot be recycled, burned, or put in the landfill without having big consequences on our health and the environment. A single PVC bottle can contaminate a recycling load of 100,000 bottles!
Communities near vinyl plants suffer from air and water pollution, exposing families to cancer-causing chemicals. PVC plants are often located near low-income and communities of color.
In addition to watching the video, you can take action by signing the petition to Target. Just look for the petition after Sam Suds solves the case of the Poison Plastic.
Thanks for watching the hilarious 3-minute video today, and making the world a safer place for everyone!
Truly,
Robyn E.
Care2 and ThePetitionSite Team
Target stores may have the latest designs, but their aisles are filled with products made with polyvinyl chloride (PVC), a plastic made from chemicals linked to cancer. Find out how you can help get this dangerous plastic out of Target stores - and your own home!
Watch the fun new animated detective spoof, "Sam Suds and the Case of PVC, the Poison Plastic."
PVC, also known as vinyl, is one of the most hazardous consumer products ever created. It is dangerous throughout its entire lifecycle - from production to use to disposal. And PVC is commonly used in packaging, shower curtains, shampoo bottles, some children’s toys, home building materials, car interiors, and thousands of other products we use every day.
Companies like Wal-Mart, Nike, Microsoft, Ikea, H&M, Crabtree & Evelyn and Johnson & Johnson have all started to phase out dangerous PVC toys, shower curtains and/or other products and packaging. Now it's Target's turn!
How can you help? Start by learning more at: http://go.care2.com/e/kc0A/wAh/euNU
Why should Target find safer alternatives to products made with PVC? Here are just a few examples of how PVC is bad for our health, bad for our environment, and bad for our communities:
PVC contains toxic additives, which can off-gas or leach out. And studies show that chemicals used or released during the PVC lifecycle, such as mercury, dioxins, and phthalates, can cause cancer, reproductive and immune system damage, and asthma. These chemicals may pose irreversible life-long health threats, particularly to children.
PVC cannot be recycled, burned, or put in the landfill without having big consequences on our health and the environment. A single PVC bottle can contaminate a recycling load of 100,000 bottles!
Communities near vinyl plants suffer from air and water pollution, exposing families to cancer-causing chemicals. PVC plants are often located near low-income and communities of color.
In addition to watching the video, you can take action by signing the petition to Target. Just look for the petition after Sam Suds solves the case of the Poison Plastic.
Thanks for watching the hilarious 3-minute video today, and making the world a safer place for everyone!
Truly,
Robyn E.
Care2 and ThePetitionSite Team