I not lying..everytime I see this title I think it's sometihng over in the trip report section. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Bamboo, a fast growing, versatile woody grass is found across the country. It is an economic resource having immense potential for improving the quality of life of rural and urban communities with environment regeneration qualities like carbon sequestering. Bamboo provides raw material for large industries like paper and pulp as well as for cottage and handicrafts industry. Some bamboo species can grow one metre in a day. Bamboo shoots are used in the preparation of vegetables and various other dishes and many other horticultural uses. It is grown like any other horticultural crop by tilling the land and is harvested annually, when grown commercially. Bamboo roots, leaves, sap and ash are being used since ancient times as a remedy for minor and major ailments, particularly in Ayurvedic health care.
The world market for bamboo is valued at US $ 10 billion of which China’s share alone is to the tune of 50%. Market for bamboo expected to reach about US $ 20 billion by 2015. </div></div>
Well India is certainly looking into taking steps to capture part of tha market.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">India: Bamboo-fuelled power plants in Assam ready
Thursday, December 15, 2005, 1:15:23 PM | jonathan
Indian scientists have successfully developed two unique power projects by using bamboo to generate electricity. The plants with a capacity of 1 MW each would be commissioned in Assam by February next year. "This would be the first of its kind where we are using bamboo and its wastes to generate electricity," said Vinay S. Oberoi, director of the National Mission on Bamboo Applications (NMBA). "This would not only be cost effective but also highly eco-friendly," Oberoi told IANS.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">India which has the second highest resource of bamboo in the world, is also planning to make it big in the global market for bamboo products. ...
Jamaica is at least doing SOMETHING in this area:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Jamaica and Guadeloupe to Produce and Promote Bamboo Craft
Wednesday, January 18, 2006, 4:22:49 AM | jonathan
Jamaica and Guadeloupe have signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to facilitate the production and promotion of bamboo products. The signing was held yesterday (Jan.12) at the Jamaica Promotions Corporation (JAMPRO) offices in New Kingston and the signatories were JAMPRO President, Pat Francis; Teddy Isimat-Mirin from the Guadeloupe-based Institute for Franco-Caribbean Cooperation; Paula Hurlock, Executive Director of the Dolphin Head Trust; and Damien Labelle, designer at the Kleasion Bamboo Company in Guadeloupe. The project is set to get underway in Hanover in March, with residents being trained in bamboo design by Mr. Laballe, who is a renowned bamboo craftsman and designer. </div></div>
I agree Evanovitch, nothing is ever as easily done as said. There are always is always the inevitable fly in the ointment but often there is a way around some of the challenges. This is interesting from the same source as before (I had trouble pulling it up:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">India which has the second highest resource of bamboo in the world, is also planning to make it big in the global market for bamboo products. But then there is a huge demand and supply gap insofar as bamboo is concerned. Right now, the supply of bamboo is about 13.47-million tonnes, while the demand is pegged at 26.9-million tonnes. </div></div>
Might be time for you to explore your bamboo venture Evanovitch. You may be on to something there.
ON a different note (not in reponse to anything you have said Evanovitch but based on some of the comments in this thread and the rice thread. We seem to be a nation of whiners, always focusing on what WON'T work and why something CAN'T work instead of finding solutions. Nations with fewer natural resources than we have, have managed to find their way. We are a bright and hard working people and we are blessed with some natural resources. Surely if we put even HALF as much energy into finding solutions as we do into shooting down every idea that is put forth, we may actually find ourselves progressing.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I agree Evanovitch, nothing is ever as easily done as said. There are always is always the inevitable fly in the ointment but often there is a way around some of the challenges. This is interesting from the same source as before (I had trouble pulling it up:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">India which has the second highest resource of bamboo in the world, is also planning to make it big in the global market for bamboo products. But then there is a huge demand and supply gap insofar as bamboo is concerned. Right now, the supply of bamboo is about 13.47-million tonnes, while the demand is pegged at 26.9-million tonnes. </div></div>
Might be time for you to explore your bamboo venture Evanovitch. You may be on to something there.
ON a different note (not in reponse to anything you have said Evanovitch but based on some of the comments in this thread and the rice thread. We seem to be a nation of whiners, always focusing on what WON'T work and why something CAN'T work instead of finding solutions. Nations with fewer natural resources than we have, have managed to find their way. We are a bright and hard working people and we are blessed with some natural resources. Surely if we put even HALF as much energy into finding solutions as we do into shooting down every idea that is put forth, we may actually find ourselves pogressing. </div></div>
Tropi, bak in di day, wen Michael was coming up wid yute service, i had the chance to do projects wid JIDC while waiting fi exam results ...if u know di intent of dat body bak den, u wi undastan wen i tell u seh wi have a history of waste of energy, initiative an money...my project was wid a man who wanted to make flour from banana etc....ah sah... he had the get up an go, but him was on him own [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img] di senior smaddy mi did a wuk wid was a wasse a time
Somehow the flour from Bananna sound like ti might have potential. Tell me more bout de knitting needle business. Are you planning to focus exclusively on knitting needles or are you eventually going to branch out to some other bamboo products? Were any of the links I posted and examples of products helpful?
lass year, NN sent mi a magazine story from farrin...coupled wid mi hobby, it got mi tinking....mi a try fi a 'niche' market at fuss...den mi wi see how it go...can u imagine how Things Jamaican, as stawted by Blinds bak in di days, how far ahead it wud be now, given the international status of things Jamaican....wat a wasse dem neva go wid dat een
Bamboo is emerging as an alternative resource to other types of wood. In the past, people intuitively used it as a basic material for making many different household objects and small structures. However, ongoing research and engineering efforts are enabling us to realize bamboo's true value as a renewable, versatile and readily available economic resource. After briefly exploring the basic facts and traditional applications of bamboo, this article highlights the chemical and materials engineering behind the growth of reformed bamboo as well as the structural engineering issues involved in building larger and sturdier bamboo structures.
dere in lies one ting fi consida....dont yaad bamboo blighted like how yellow did lik di cokenat...is all dem tings mi a try suss out
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I agree Evanovitch, nothing is ever as easily done as said. There are always is always the inevitable fly in the ointment but often there is a way around some of the challenges. This is interesting from the same source as before (I had trouble pulling it up:
ON a different note (not in reponse to anything you have said Evanovitch but based on some of the comments in this thread and the rice thread. We seem to be a nation of whiners, always focusing on what WON'T work and why something CAN'T work instead of finding solutions. Nations with fewer natural resources than we have, have managed to find their way. We are a bright and hard working people and we are blessed with some natural resources. Surely if we put even HALF as much energy into finding solutions as we do into shooting down every idea that is put forth, we may actually find ourselves pogressing. </div></div>
Tropi, bak in di day, wen Michael was coming up wid yute service, i had the chance to do projects wid JIDC while waiting fi exam results ...if u know di intent of dat body bak den, u wi undastan wen i tell u seh wi have a history of waste of energy, initiative an money...my project was wid a man who wanted to make flour from banana etc....ah sah... he had the get up an go, but him was on him own [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img] di senior smaddy mi did a wuk wid was a wasse a time </div></div>
Evan PM tell mi what was the JIDC ? It sound familiar [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dere in lies one ting fi consida....dont yaad bamboo blighted like how yellow did lik di cokenat...is all dem tings mi a try suss out </div></div>
I really don't know anything about it. Remembeer that link I posted to that international bamboo growers association earlier in the thread. Maybe if you contact them, they can assist you.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Geneva</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I agree Evanovitch, nothing is ever as easily done as said. There are always is always the inevitable fly in the ointment but often there is a way around some of the challenges. This is interesting from the same source as before (I had trouble pulling it up:
Tropi, bak in di day, wen Michael was coming up wid yute service, i had the chance to do projects wid JIDC while waiting fi exam results ...if u know di intent of dat body bak den, u wi undastan wen i tell u seh wi have a history of waste of energy, initiative an money...my project was wid a man who wanted to make flour from banana etc....ah sah... he had the get up an go, but him was on him own [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img] di senior smaddy mi did a wuk wid was a wasse a time </div></div>
Evan PM tell mi what was the JIDC ? It sound familiar [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img] mi no do dem ting no more u know....play wid puppy dem lick u face [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img]...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.