I finally cleaned it up over the weekend, did a little touch up painting and will soon be ready to add some little fishies. I have a lilac tree in the center and it is really old so I was thinking of replacing it. I like the Japanese maples. What do you think about those?
skells yuh likkle backyard look cozy and nice man, not too big not too small, just right. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] mek mi almost wish I had one..almost.
and I love how the fence nice and HIGH [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
Is the pond that deep ? MIL have one with 3 tiers wid some big cooking size [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Koi. maybe you can add some of those later on.
oooohhhh, very nice, Skells! I think a Japanese Maple would be perfect. I just picked one up the other day, small, but gorgeous shape, for $100. Not that that is cheap mind you, but...some things can't be imitated. Ask hubby or the local handyman to make you a cover of sorts for the pond out of hardware cloth on a frame, that can be staked in. That way, baby Skells can be safe, and you can still enjoy your pond. Bonus - easy leaf cleanup. Total cost might be $25...if that. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img]
My sis just purchased a home with a pond similar to yours . I purchased a few plants for her to place in the pond for a housewarming gift. She says the plants are really doing well so far.
She has placed some fish in hers as well. My next place will have to have a pond too mi thinks!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Geneva</div><div class="ubbcode-body">skells yuh likkle backyard look cozy and nice man, not too big not too small, just right. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] mek mi almost wish I had one..almost.
and I love how the fence nice and HIGH [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
Is the pond that deep ? MIL have one with 3 tiers wid some big cooking size [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Koi. maybe you can add some of those later on. </div></div>
Actually Gen, I have a decent sized backyard and a plot of open land next to it where we have a garden. I took this pic last winter after a snow storm. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/cold.gif[/img] The deck wraps around the back side of the house behind the garage to the extreme back and is expanded out and raised to meet the level of the pool. That's the gated area with the ducky on it.
The pond is about 3 ft deep but the levels vary at different points.
I want to get some koi for the pond. We had these fish last year when we got the house but because the pond was frozen over they were not getting any oxygen and food so we gave them to my SIL and they are still there to this day. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] We have to get a tank to put them in during the winter. Alot of work! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Green_Biscuit</div><div class="ubbcode-body">oooohhhh, very nice, Skells! I think a Japanese Maple would be perfect. I just picked one up the other day, small, but gorgeous shape, for $100. Not that that is cheap mind you, but...some things can't be imitated. Ask hubby or the local handyman to make you a cover of sorts for the pond out of hardware cloth on a frame, that can be staked in. That way, baby Skells can be safe, and you can still enjoy your pond. Bonus - easy leaf cleanup. Total cost might be $25...if that. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img] </div></div>
GB...excellent idea about the cover! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] I would have never tought about that! Thanks for the tip.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My sis just purchased a home with a pond similar to yours . I purchased a few plants for her to place in the pond for a housewarming gift. She says the plants are really doing well so far.
She has placed some fish in hers as well. My next place will have to have a pond too mi thinks!
Looks very tranquil Skells! Nice! </div></div>
Thanks Milo...that area is my favorite hanging spot. I hope to get a nice swinging loveseat set up out there so I can read my book or play with the baby out there.
Wow Kia...mi wonder how long dem tek fi grow. I have alot of those purple things at the base of the lilac but they are not in bloom right now. I am going to have to clear those away if I get a maple as small as that.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.