2 piece, one piece, elongated, round front, dual flush, Jetted, power assisted, pressure assisted, rim jet. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/scareyuh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crybaby.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/dizzy.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
Toilets
Re: Toilets
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">eeeewwww, dat one remind me of a pit tilet.
BTW my question is, what is the difference between all of the above. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img] </div></div>
mi hear seh dem noh call dem pit tilet.. de neva version is called composting tilet.. dem gawn green & upscale now [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">eeeewwww, dat one remind me of a pit tilet.
BTW my question is, what is the difference between all of the above. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img] </div></div>
mi hear seh dem noh call dem pit tilet.. de neva version is called composting tilet.. dem gawn green & upscale now [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] </div></div>
Good fi dem. dat nah come inna my house. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
There was an artcile in one of the magazine that discussed the differences but I doan remember which one [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
GB I know will know for sureIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">2 piece, one piece, elongated, round front, dual flush, Jetted, power assisted, pressure assisted, rim jet. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/scareyuh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crybaby.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/dizzy.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">round front or elongated?
Round front toilets are compact to fit in small spaces & are less expensive than elongated bowl models.
Elongated toilets feature extended rim length, especially designed for comfortable use by adults.
round, elongated
one-piece, or two?
A "one-piece" toilet is actually six to ten individual pieces sculpted into a seamless, space-saving unit. The result is a sleek, hand-crafted toilet w/ no crevices between the tank & bowl to collect dirt & odors.
"Two-piece" toilets feature the traditional design of a separate tank & bowl which are bolted together upon installation.
gravity-fed or pressure-assisted flush?
There are two basic types of toilet flushing systems; both types save water by using 1.6 gallons of water per flush. Gravity-fed flush toilets use the force of gravity & a siphon "pull-through" action to empty the bowl. Look for gravity-fed toilets offering high performance to efficiently & quietly dispose waste.
Pressure-assisted toilets harness pressure from the water supply in the home to create a powerful "push-through" flush. All waste is removed quickly in about four seconds. Pressure assisted toilets are slightly louder & there is no condensation or "sweating" on the outer tank.
quality
Look for toilets with a deep, rich coat of glaze, insuring an even, easy to clean glossy surface. Ideally, the internal trapway should be glazed, providing a smooth surface to facilitate the flow of waste & prevent clogging. Look for superior quality for lasting durability performance.
OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
size
Toilets come in varying sizes, so check the width, depth & height of your available space. Also, most toilets bolt to the floor 12" from the wall, but some toilet manufacturers also make 10" & 14" models. Measure first.
pics after the jump [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bubble.gif[/img]
Thanks Jaded. Sounds like one piece would work for me. I still haven't figured out the flush types though. I read so much conflicting information. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/dizzy.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
What does this mean?7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Dual-flush toilets have been in Europe and Australia for years, but are now gaining in popularity in the U.S. Dual-flush toilets let you choose between a 1-gallon (or less) flush for liquid waste and a 1.6-gallon flush for solid waste. With recent home-improvement trends and high home-sale prices, there's a greater interest in better-looking toilets. As a result, toilets have received a face-lift. Not only have the color choices been expanded to include earth tones, but also designer toilets are now available in cherry, mahogany, leather, stainless steel, 1950’s powder blue, pink and even toilets designed to look like hatboxes.
Types of toilets
Toilets consume 30% to 40% of the total water used in homes, making them the biggest water users. Replacing an older 3.5-gallon toilet with a 1.6-gallon toilet could save an average of two gallons-per-flush, totaling a household savings of 12,000 gallons of water per year. Dual-flush 1.6-gpf toilets reduce water consumption by an additional 30%.
You might want to check with your local utility company; many municipalities offer rebates that can defray the cost of a new, more efficient toilet. City municipalities, which have installed 1.6-gpf toilets, report reduced total water demand and reduced wastewater flow of 15% to 20%, saving taxpayers millions of dollars per year.
Toilets come in several main types: Pressure-assist, power-assist, vacuum-assist and gravity. Be sure to compare like categories when you are shopping. Otherwise, you end up comparing apples to oranges. In general, reviews say to expect to pay between $250 and $350 for a good toilet.
Gravity toilets: This is the most familiar type of toilet. Here, water drops from the tank into the bowl and trap, moving waste down the drain. Gravity does all the work, which makes them a good choice for homes that don't get great water pressure (as low as 10 pounds per square inch should be fine). Gravity toilets have a proven design and appeal to those who want a quiet flush. Since there's not much fancy technology inside the tank, repairs are easier. However, lower-priced models don't typically fare as well in testing. The best gravity toilets can cost as much as generally better pressure-assist toilets. Prices range from about $150 to $500.
Pressure-assist toilets: These are the most powerful toilets, best suited for large families or heavy use. The toilet's water supply provides the pressure to compress air within a sealed plastic reservoir inside the tank. When the incoming water reaches the fill line, the tank is pressurized and ready for the next flush. During flushing, the air under pressure creates a loud "whoosh" as water blasts into the bowl; this noise can startle small children and people who like to flush while seated. Up to 80% of the flush water is used to purge the bowl, making for a very efficient flush. These toilets work great as long as the household water pressure is at least 25 pounds per square inch (psi). Pressure-assist toilets can solve problems in homes with older plumbing systems where gravity-fed 1.6-gpf toilets just aren't strong enough to pull waste through the older pipes. Prices generally range from $225 to $400. Pressure-assist toilets are generally better than gravity toilets, but their more complicated inner workings make them harder to repair.
Vacuum-assist toilets: In these toilets, the tank houses a vacuum chamber that works like a siphon to pull air out of the trap below the bowl so that it can quickly fill with water to clear waste. These toilets, like power-assist models, work well in close quarters or bathrooms located near bedrooms, where you'd want a quiet toilet. Vacuum-assist toilets typically have less power than pressure-assist toilets, and are not as widely manufactured as other toilet types, so there are fewer choices. In general, these toilets range in price from $200 to $350. In reviews, experts recommend pressure-assist toilets over vacuum toilets.
Power-assist toilets: Power-assist toilets plug into a standard GFCI outlet and use electricity to power a pump that pushes water into the toilet bowl. These quiet operators work well in close quarters or bathrooms located near bedrooms. A self-closing seat, which may be added to any toilet for about $50, eliminates the loud clanking associated with a toilet seat dropping on porcelain. This type of toilet is expensive; prices start at about $900.
In home-improvement stores, you'll see familiar-looking two-piece toilets alongside newer one-piece toilets. The one-piece models incorporate the tank, bowl and seat into one piece of hardware. A one-piece toilet is easier to clean, doesn’t leak between the bowl and tank, and is typically more expensive than a two-piece toilet. The tank and bowl are separate in two-piece toilets, and the toilet seat is usually not included with the bowl. Two-piece toilets are usually less expensive than one-piece toilets, but they're a little harder to clean.
The vast majority of toilets still mount on the floor over a trap that leads to the sewer main. But you can also find wall-mounted toilets, which require a special plumbing setup. Wall-mounted toilets are more expensive, generally over $500. A wall-mounted toilet allows for easier floor cleaning.
Toilet bowls are available in two basic shapes -- round and elongated. Round bowls save space; elongated bowls are more oval in shape, and are a bit more comfortable as well. Elongated bowls are usually 2" longer than round bowls. With their larger water surface, elongated bowls are recommended by the ADA for seniors or those with disabilities.
interesting stuff... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bubble.gif[/img]
I have a Toto..dem supposed to be the creme de la creme a toilets but me sure is the low end version me have...anyways I dig it.. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks Jaded. Sounds like one piece would work for me. I still haven't figured out the flush types though. I read so much conflicting information. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/dizzy.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
What does this mean? </div></div>
awfta yu click de link.."de jump"