Mi hear dis scraping noise dem outside of my home office (a converted second-floor bedroom).....
Open mi door to find...
Mista Witchy an CJ (painter) scraaaaaaaaaaaaaapin the wallpaper off of my second-floor hallway walls... and stairwell walls... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img]
Since CJ came prepared to work thru the ngiht (brought a clean change of clothes with him today!)... Mista Witchy gwaan stay home fram work tamarra and get dis painting done.
While one living room wall, just replaced with new sheet rock, is drying... these two decided to tackel the front hall/stairwell/2nd floor stairwell. They think tht this overnight work party will make it possible for my living room to be done, and most of the hall done too, before we go away next week after next, on our cruise. :jaw-drap-pan-di-grung:
I bought the paint for the living room, already. And - finally! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] - my dining room is done. But, I haven't chosen color for the hallways/stairwell ((one big open area leading upstairs) yet!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
The dining room is gorgeous!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
Dark crimson upper walls with a white chair rail and amber-golden walls below, the same amber/gold color up above at the top on the Greek key work trim... and hi-gloss white on the interior window shutters, doors, and woodwork... and hi-gloss white on the ceiling! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/laugh.gif[/img]
Brand-new Murray Feiss stoooooooooooch wall sconces for the dining room, and my family's old Tiffany stained glass chandelier hung from the center of the dining room ceiling. (The one I grew up with, in my Mother's kitchen)
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]YAAAY!![img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
Yeah, I'm truly a Russian ooman at heart! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Dark red and gold... lol
I have two collections of collector plates to hang on the new dining room walls, too. Mine's the Russian Fairy Tale plate collection by Bradford Exchange from the mid-1980s, IIRC. The new one I haven't even seen yet... but Mother told me she bought the entire shebang at an estate sale, remembering how much I looooooved the Bradford Exchange RUssian plates (she also has them) for me for Hanukkah.
Mother hated to ruin the surprise, but she knew I was re-decorating, and wanted me to know about these new plates she bought for me. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img]
My mother loves me.
(never thought I'd say that, or think it, but she apparently does)
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]