decision (or purchase) yu had to make for your home? How long did it take yu to make up your mind? after months an months...me tink me almost ready to bite de bullet on me window treatments [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70361-embarassed.gif[/img] floors next... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
what was the hardest decorating
Re: what was the hardest decorating
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">decision (or purchase) yu had to make for your home? How long did it take yu to make up your mind? after months an months...me tink me almost ready to bite de bullet on me window treatments [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70361-embarassed.gif[/img] floors next... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] </div></div>
for me it was my bedroom furniture.
I am my own most difficult client. I have lived here now 3 1/2 years, and it is not done by any stretch of the imagination. I won't bother you with the long list....
Hardest might be my own art studio, which is likely to remain "nothing" because it is so transient. Walls need paint...and theoretically, they should be white. I just can't bring my self to paint them such a boring color! So they remain the same boring bisque, with peeling paint (improper prep by contractor we bought from) and the hundred holes I add to everyday, while moving artwork (mine and other peoples' around).
Jaded
It does take a long time because you know each step is an investment in your home of time, effort and money. It is not like clothes that are easily taken back if they dont look right.
I have usually thought & researched home projects for a good while before I discuss it with anyone which surprises my husband who thinks I just impulsively came up with the idea and found the perfect item [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
tonx guys..now I don't feel so bad.. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img]
Kia yu know how it is wid yawd folks..imagine the shame..nothing on my living room windows fe a yr now [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img][img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]
Jaded nuh worry only one bedroom furnished so far. I cannot decide on the others there's a lilac room a cinnamon room and the everything green room an di ongle ting weh guh wid dem deh theme deh is di paint pan di wall. Oh father. Di lilac wan nuh gat nuh curtain for mi cyaan decide I found the scarf I want though
the green room have curtain AND paint suh mi mek progress wid dat wan
I was in the Interior Design field for over 20 years in the Bay Area, so much fun and I specialized in things made with textiles as well as window treatments.
But my most recent challenge, one that I might say has kicked my butt, is that in both of my bathrooms in Jamaica, the walls have a special treatment on them and one of the colors is PINK, my least favorite color of all time, especially in my home!!! So how to blend in that color, not add to it, in a way that wont look like I'm trying to cover it up? It's been challenging to say the least.
I found a beautiful shower curtain here in So Cal that has more then one shade of pink in it as well as all of my favorite colors, greens, purples, reds & golds. So I'm hoping that will do the trick.
The next thing is to put a mirror directly on the wall in the shower that will refect what you see right out the window, the ocean. I want to NOT have to turn around to see the ocean while I'm bathing, so I'll figure that out.
Other then that, I'm good with what I have.
BTW, I would LOVE to paint over the pink walls, but that's not an option right now.
MK.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img]
yu mek feel much betta..fe real...today is the 1 yr anniversary of me move...guess dats y me taking stock
TS..glad yu clarified that painting is not an option..caw yu knoe dat was me fuss question..good luck [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Seveen..whats yu style why is it soo hard to find?
personally I have champagne taste an beer bokkle pockets [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
I'm repainting...well...I am stuck [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img] I want different colors throughout the house but they have to flow nicely. So far I did the kitchen and living room and now I want to do the dining room and the foyer but I am stuck because the colors need to connect and I have no idea... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/scareyuh.gif[/img]
Well the intensity in my kitchen cannot be the same in my bedroom..I have warm colors in the kitchen and I would like to transcend into cool colors throughout the house. I dunno [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crazy.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img]