..does anyone have a fibreglass front door?
Entry Doors - Fibreglass
Re: Entry Doors - Fibreglass
no, fiberglass (U.S. spelling) doors different than steel ones.
my front door (traditional wood) needs replacing, and in searching the web I saw mention of fiberglass ones, which are supposed to be stronger (they dont rot or warp like wood ones) and they're more secure, and they can be varnished and look like wood. they're more expensive but last longer, and it was claimed they increased the value of the property because of the positives..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mangoskin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no, fiberglass (U.S. spelling) doors different than steel ones.
my front door (traditional wood) needs replacing, and in searching the web I saw mention of fiberglass ones, which are supposed to be stronger (they dont rot or warp like wood ones) and they're more secure, and they can be varnished and look like wood. they're more expensive but last longer, and it was claimed they increased the value of the property because of the positives.. </div></div>
They also have higher wind resistance. Which is one of the big plus marks for me....living in a hurricane zone.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: 7777</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yep, I got one..
wha u want to know?? </div></div>
is it easy to install the doorknobs and deadlocks on it
should the door frams also be fibreglass
thanks
If a remember correctly, the frame comes as a package with the door..
My family didnt install the door, we had a contractor do it, but I do vaguely remember something about the frame coming togehter with it..
As for the dead bolt, and the door handle, which u do haffe buy separately..(didnt come with it)
I think that there was a problem with the aligning of the slot in the frame with the new door, for the deadbolt as the old slot didnt fit..
The knob (door handle we call it) was no problem to put in..
that was the easy part..
It was getting the deadbolt to fit into the frame, that was the issue..
One thing that I haffe seh bout it, is that it wipes clean and is very easy to maintain..
They cost a bit more dan regular doors yet, but most have along warranty pon dem...
it doesnt rot like the conventional doors and it doesnt have to be treated (stained etc) etc..
they come in colors and stains already, and once u get dem like dat..
Bam..u dun..
Ours however come with de long glass inna de middle..and I like the fact that now the foyer is alway lit from the marning sun..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mangoskin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...thanks so much,
I think I will get one, I like the idea of the glass in the middle..the glass is secure?
</div></div>well we get breeze a blow pon it and it still deh deh..[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]...
yes, I think it secure..[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
The glass is not like plain sheet of glass u know..
It looks more like a painted glass that gives off different hues when the sun light pon it..
and its etched in different styles..(round, diagonal etc) to mek up the long center piece.
Mine look like something outta a church window..
if u can kinda picta wha me mean..
now if u live inna hurricane zone, dem have the one (like wha me have a de side door inna de mud room), dats just all door, no glass..
so u have a range of doors u can pick..
Its just dat I wanted the glass door fe de front fe a more pictureque and more curb appeal..