<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">MI need fi get one, what is bettah de canister type are de upright, wah unno tink?
I'm thinking dyson at the moment [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] </div></div>
the bagless one yu fi get [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Don't know where you're located but if you can get to a public library in the U.S. or get with someone who has a subscription to Consumer's Report (also at public libraries) CR has great reports on all sorts of appliances including vacuum cleaners.
I can tell you for certain that they never wrote anything very good about Dyson's.
They are badly overpriced for what you get, CR will tell you which ones work the best, are easiest to use, eject the most or least dust (effective filtration) and which are what they call the "best buys". Best buys are almost never the highest price, will do a very good job and have the better repair records.
Some of the the Kenmore models available at Sears usually get 'Best Buys' but you'd have to check latest issues for what's going on now.
I have a Kenmore cannister given to me by my mother-in-law and it's very good even though I recently had to replace the drive belt- normal wear and tear.
If you can't get to a Consumer's Report, all you can go by is word of mouth or perhaps Google something like "vacuum cleaner ratings.
Be warned though, as everyone will tell you
ALL VACUUM CLEANERS SUCK!
I have a Kenmore and have used a Dyson. I like my Kenmore better. The model I have is upright and there is no belt! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70458-applaud.gif[/img] That is one of my favorite things about it. It wasn't cheap by any means (prolly around 250.00) but not as $$ as Dyson. It is going on 5 years now and I have never had a problem and since I have dogs it gets real workout! There are cloth bags which are fairly expensive but they sure cut down on the dust and they last longer than paper ones. And there is a hepa filter.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dyson for me but thank goodness the days of vacuuming are done now that it's hardwood and tiled flooring </div></div> i find the hardwood seem to just attract dust so i still vacuum it actually works better than the swifter or anything like that
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dyson for me but thank goodness the days of vacuuming are done now that it's hardwood and tiled flooring </div></div> i find the hardwood seem to just attract dust so i still vacuum it actually works better than the swifter or anything like that </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] yu have any single bredda or cousin weh stay juss like you??
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm thinking dyson at the moment [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] </div></div>
dem yah vacuum worth di money fi real [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Dysons are ridiculously overpriced...talk bout dem never lose suction...lies! Mi have one sitting not doing nothing in di basement now... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
now the Kirby is ridiculously expensive but I wanna tell you they are the best...but if you are not crazy abotu vacuuming like me...well I am not its just dat if mi nuh vacuum dis pickney will pick up specks...den jus go wid a Hoover
And btw does anyone notice that the old fashion vacuums work way better than these newer ones...and the bagless throws more dirt than anything else.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: TanyaZeen</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dyson for me but thank goodness the days of vacuuming are done now that it's hardwood and tiled flooring </div></div> i find the hardwood seem to just attract dust so i still vacuum it actually works better than the swifter or anything like that </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] yu have any single bredda or cousin weh stay juss like you?? </div></div>
or will him become disengaged anytime soon? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dyson for me but thank goodness the days of vacuuming are done now that it's hardwood and tiled flooring </div></div> i find the hardwood seem to just attract dust so i still vacuum it actually works better than the swifter or anything like that </div></div>
if mi did have money fi waste mi wouldan buy one robotic vaccum fi dungstairs since is all wood an tile an a different one fi upstairs. But...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dyson for me but thank goodness the days of vacuuming are done now that it's hardwood and tiled flooring </div></div> i find the hardwood seem to just attract dust so i still vacuum it actually works better than the swifter or anything like that </div></div>
if mi did have money fi waste mi wouldan buy one robotic vaccum fi dungstairs since is all wood an tile an a different one fi upstairs. But... </div></div>
the robot one dem nuh dat expensive:thnk:
the robot ones are nice but they are not very powerful for deep vacuuming. I think they are better suited to hardwood floors. They have one at the lake.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.