what is the standard roof material on shingle house?
RichardD ahn all di other construction smaddy
Re: RichardD ahn all di other construction smaddy
yes mi know dem use shingles, nails, plywood, etc. but mi need fi know what make each of the materials.
mi reading di estimate one contractor give mi sister ahn mi cyan reach di current mr ilp fi ask im.
I am not a construction smaddy but I did find this
<span style="font-weight: bold">Wood shingles </span>and shakes $100 to $165 per square (10 x 10 area = 100 square feet = 1 square) Life span: 25 to 75 years.
Wood shingles and shakes can be purchased in cedar, redwood, southern pine and other woods, cedar being the most costly. Wood shingles cut are by machine, while wood shakes are handmade and have a rougher look. Since most wood shingles and shakes only have Class C fire ratings or no ratings at all, be sure to check your local building codes before deciding on this type of roofing. You can purchase Class A wood shingles with fire-resistant treatment for an additional cost.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Clay tile</span> $300 to $600 per square (10 x 10 area = 100 square feet = 1 square) Life span: 50 years.
Clay tile is very durable and comes in a variety of colors and finishes, but are a heavy material.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Slate</span> $550 to $1000 per square (10 x 10 area = 100 square feet = 1 square) Life span: 50 to 100 years.
Slate is by far the most durable material, but also most expensive. The installation requires special skills and experience. The choice of color and grade will vary greatly on where you purchase it.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Metal</span> starts around $100 per square (10 x 10 area = 100 square feet = 1 square) but can run up to $600 for coated steels and copper. Life span: 20 to 50 years.
There are two types of metal roofing products: <span style="font-weight: bold">panels and shingles</span>, which come in numerous shapes and configurations. Metal shingles typically simulate traditional roof coverings, such as wood shakes, shingles and tile. Aside from its longevity, metal shingles are much lighter than most materials and very resistance to adverse weather.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Fiber cement</span> $500 per square (10 x 10 area = 100 square feet = 1 square) Life span: 20 to 30 years.
Fiber cement is a good choice for homes that are built in very hot, humid climates. They withstand the salty air and wind of being near an ocean. Fiber cement is available in a variety of textures and colors and is very durable. Keep in mind; they are very heavy and difficult to repair though.
sourceIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
lawd mi nuh know nuttin bout roof atall. mi know bout flat roofs (as in that is what i had at my old house). these are the materials from the estimate...
plywood sheathing (at $72.00 per sheet)
15 pound felt underlayment
simplex nails
25 year certified fiberglass self-sealing shingles
aluminum flashing
white aluminum rake board
2 year guarantee on workmanship
25 guarantee on roof
lawd dis is like foriegn language....
are these good/standard materials? pros ahn cons?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mILuvPortland</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what is the standard roof material on shingle house?
</div></div> up here the standard is asphalt shingle anthing else is upgrade
depending on the quality of the asphalt sungel it gauranteed for 10-25 years
I just did my Roof in May.
we were going to go with a metal roof like this but the cost was $17,000
a
but the problem is this-the roof may last forever-but the fastners (ie:nails) wont,
so we went with a 25 year Domtar shingle.
which cost $5200. that way we can put the other 12,000 toward our solar panel project.
one thing you want to make sure is they use felt paper under your shingle.
one thing i learned is theres alot of fly-by-nite roofing contractors in Toronto -alot of chinese companies into roofing all of a sudden. stay away from them! My neighbour 3 doors down ha Ho Sing Roofing do his roof (he saved about 1000) and the workmanship is poor.
Ummm HO & Richard...weh oonu deh?
so HO & Richard mi see daht di estimate dem give mi sister dem a use felt underlay (15 pound?), so thats good, right?
fiberglass is better or worse than asphalt?
HO, so if di contractor gwine guarantee im work for 2 years daht is good?
30 pound felt is probaly better but the 15 pound should beadquate since you dont get that much snow(so mi hear)
I think the fibreglass is just another version/name for the asphalt single.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....