has anyone ever thought of making the invesment? right now theres some good incentives in Ontario like interest free loans with no liens, rebates etc etc. [img]http://ca.wrs.yahoo.com/_ylt=A0WTf2saaWJIaEMBl5v2FAx./SIG=12ubaondd/EXP=1214495386/**http%3A//www.ccenergy.com/gallery/member/MuirCommons/MuirCommons_rooftop.jpg[/img]
Going Solar
Re: Going Solar
As yout geographical location is so far north, what anfle are the collectors set to collect th eopyomim eggects of the sun's rays?
Monochrystiline are better than poly chrystiline, and for people in the areas where the sun's rays are not as strong as closer to th eequater. ther is a specially developed low light PV cell that has been developed.
but oonu nu get any rebates from the power company/government when you upgrade? plus the tax write off for spending so much in renovations?
down here you get a rebate for the construction and then the power company buys the power that you dont use back.
<span style="font-style: italic">disclaimer: i am only repeating what i have been told by di current mr ilp as he is doing some solar mods to the roof this summer. </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: AdahJahtuhRahtid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes, but it still tek bout 15-20 years fi brukk even.
mi hear seh Barbados have a real good plan fi dem citizens and solar </div></div>At the old energy prices.......
Who knows how much energy will coast in 5, 10, or 15 years?
right now were in the permitting process. we got to make a ventilated shed for the batteries cause The city of Toronto wont let you store them in the Garage
were looking at $15,000. to go completely off the grid about 35-40gs.
i put in a new HVAC systym and am using one of the new tankless water heaters.
i dont intend on going completely off the grid although Hydro in Ontario pays 42c a killiwatt.
Dahjah right though, the payback is 15 years, although it does also add value to your property
I have a very basic solar system at my camp. One thin panel on the roof...i use it to run lights when needed, run a black and white tv, play my tunes...and pressurize my shower.
I have heard of some venture capitalists in Europe working on a solar delivery system, that would work similar to the way you receive your directv system. they come install the works, you pay a monthly fee...and access solar power. the idea has merit.
FINALLY, the price of gas has pushed the alternative energy market.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">have heard of some venture capitalists in Europe working on a solar delivery system, that would work similar to the way you receive your directv system. they come install the works, you pay a monthly fee...and access solar power. the idea has merit.</div></div>
yes yes do thisIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: loops</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have heard of some venture capitalists in Europe working on a solar delivery system, that would work similar to the way you receive your directv system. they come install the works, you pay a monthly fee...and access solar power. the idea has merit.
so what is the cost in comparison to what people have now?
i really have no idea of the cost....but the idea is to make it accessible to more people in a more cost effective method.
can't remember where the initial IPO was, thinking Germany? things are in the initial stages.....so i would imagine the cost would go down as it becomes a more mainstream idea. And why wouldn't it?
ideas like this is the only way we're going to find our way out of the fuel dependence that has caused the mess we find ourselves in now.
Discovery Home Channel has converted to the Green channel, and the TV station and website have tons of information. Energy costs will only go up, and IMHO, we should all be investigating every possible option to go green. It is a nearly crisis level, moral obligation to do the best we can- if not for us, then certainly the children.