I went to buy a refurbished washing machine that came with a warranty but ended up leaving with a brand new one that had some big scratches on the side it was much less than the refurbished one
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Empress_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I went to buy a refurbished washing machine that came with a warranty but ended up leaving with a brand new one that had some big scratches on the side it was much less than the refurbished one </div></div>
dat is a good deal wid de scratches pon de side.. who sees them?
yep, i have done and would again......I've gotten a fridge and a beautful set ah matching Kenmore Heavy-Duty W & D refurbed, and they lasted for years and years, worked like champs. Before i put my own cloze in, I ran a first cycle thru with hot water and bleach, just in case dem neva clean it praperly. I did have to replace one belt on the dryer after about 2 years but that was the only probelm them ever give.
and i agree that new 'scratch-n-dent' is absolutely a better deal if you can get it, cause the moto and all moving parts inside are still factory-new. Always best!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sistacaf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and i agree that new 'scratch-n-dent' is absolutely a better deal if you can get it, cause the moto and all moving parts inside are still factory-new. Always best! </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">all</span> ah fi mi appliances are fram Best Buys Scratch n' Dent Dept.
hmmm... what if it was being sold from another homeowner.. mi a talk bout used, scratch & dent a different ting doah and mi a big fan of a deal where mi can get ie?
smaddy a sell one washer/dryer and mi a wonder if dem mawket area too stoosh fi buy one used washer/dryer
Sears has stores that deal in scratch and Dent, I bought a chair (two seater/love seat) at Leons in there scratch an dent- all that was wrong was a loose thread at the back of the chair.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> what if it was being sold from another homeowner.. mi a talk bout used, </div></div>
OIC. i wouldn't buy a used, ahem i mean pre-owned one that way - unless it's from someone I know real well and could trust what they tell me about the service/repair records, etc. Also if buying from a private owner, the warranty might be voided if it passes to new ownership. For the record I wouldn't buy one used car from a private owner either, only from a dealership.
hell, I'll buy a used appliance, depending. I want to see where it's been first though. This means I won't just go somewhere and buy a used appliance from a place that has a store full. One of my favorite places to shop is estate sales where recently I nabbed a beautiful sofa for 47.51 on a bid. Mostly the estate sales I shop are recently displaced elderly and the items are very clean. Or I won't buy. I get nice antiques this way reasonable.
There are exceptions to every rule though, and my beautiful Sears gas dryer was rescued from the recycling center where I worked. It matched the washing machine I bought new not long before that perfectly! The people dropping off the dryer had moved to a new home that didn't have a gas hook up. Well let me tell you I would sooner run a gas dryer than electric anyday and this baby is running fine 5 years later. it was free.
Nuttin wrong with used but do your homework first.
see that is what I am thinking.. people not interested in buying used but 'refurbished' = used but checked through to be working so what that means is dat the landfill get working appliances
Habitat for Humanity will take working very good condition appliances that are less than 5 yrs old-- people will buy from there perhaps but not from another person? Or what about working appliances > 5 yrs old? Off to the landfill they go?
Well, I doubt there is a landfill left that it is legal to bury the appliances. Here, you pay a fee to drop them off and then another business comes and hauls them away for scrap. They have to remove the freon and other parts before recycling the metals. People get rid of perfectly good working appliances for any number of reasons. Sometimes a washing machine will go on the fritz and they will buy a whole new set and throw away the dryer so the new set is matching. Sometimes they are simply moving and can't manage to take them with! I worked at the landfill turned recycling center. we didn't accept kitchen trash, only household items. We had a re-use area where I sent people to put usable stuff.
From the back of someone's truck I nabbed this, which was on it's way to a dumpster!
Kia, plenty of people will buy older appliances if the price is right. For a washer or dryer these days 5 yrs is nothing. Same with a fridge. Clean em up and they work.
Honestly, I can't afford new appliances or furniture these days and most of what I own is used, pre-owned, recycled, whatever you want to call it. Even my beauuutiful "new" Mac Pro"
Lots of towns have "tranfer stations" where larger stuff gets put aside into what we call a "Swap Shack" this is where you can drop off stuff you couldn't sell and isn't quite ready for the trash heap. You can also take stuff away.
There's one on the Cape in Truro that is a busy busy place. You have a lot of folks who live in town and don't make big money over the course of the year... the dishwashers, counter help, motel staff, etc that only get decent work in the summer so they're always looking to get a deal and used is the way to go.
Bicycles, TVs, old computers, furniture, clothes, baby strollers, books, glassware & dishes... you name it, it's been thru the swop shack.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.