This has been a lifelong fun thing for me! The best ones for antiques and such are the estate sales but the rummage sales can be great!
I usually go to the rich people neighborhoods. I have gotten an almost new couch because someone painted their living room and wanted new. I got a wonderful dryer that lasted me about 10 years for 25. bucks because the people's washing machine broke and they wanted 'matching'.
Yard furniture is a good find in the better neighborhoods.
I will hit houses that look like they have kiddie stuff and grab the baby blankets for my dog crates. It breaks my heart to see some of the hand crochet blankets that someone toiled for many hours to make, only to see them in a rummage sale for 1.00. Usually I leave them for the next person but I buy some as my older dogs love wool blankets.
Jackets and coats!
I will buy used blue jeans and T shirts to wear to work. In some cases they are like new.
I do "drive by's" and often don't stop, and I hate it when I do and the people have nothing but literal junk. That is why I prefer the estate sales. I did real well at those last summer and got some great vintage stuff.
The estate sales here accepts bids on anything that is over 50.00. If by the end of the sale they don't sell the items they call the highest bidder. I usually bid like on price is right. Like a dollar and a penny more than the lowest accepted bid and so far I have always won what I bid on!
I used to go to the garage sales to get books for kids but now we are stocked up.
I am not a pack rat so dont like to buy things unless I need them.
One of our best deals was a 12' trampoline complete with netting for $100; 2 years later I updated the netting & padding for $200 but still a great deal!
Nylah great deal on the elliptical
I LOVE yard sales. I don't go as often as I used to and I don't BUY as much as I used to but I usually come home with something.
I buy Little Golden Books for Jake now, usually 10 or 25 cents and he loves them. I put them on his shelf and he checks out the new finds when he comes over.
This summer I will be looking for a glass baking/roasing dish. I had a beautiful old Fire-King that I accidentally left on a hot burner on the stove. I went into my bedroom and it literally exploded.
I like to take certain routes and just follow the signs. I never plan a route ahead of time using the ads in the paper. I like the hunt.
Our town has an annual sale where you pay to the village association and your address is listed in the book. The village association sells the books to garage sale hunters..
I think I would have one just to get rid of some of this stuff \0/
I thought about holding a garage sale before it gets too hot. But me too lazy fi deal wid di haggling. Me send some things to good will odda day, and me have one more shipment fi gi dem.
Long time me nuh go one garage sale. Loose patience fi dat too.
I had ONE yard sale and doubt I would do it again. Unless it was spur of the mpment with no signs and no ads ahead of time.
I had eediat dealers at my door the NIGHT BEFORE the sale.
One fool was walking up to knock on the downstairs neighbor's door at 7 am!! I had sent him packing the night before cos he wouldn't let up about seeing what was available.
I told him if took one more step I was calling the cops!!
Then the fool came back to buy stuff. No deals for him. He made an offer on stuff and I wouldn't budge, but sold it to the next person for dirt cheap. he left.
People were coming up the driveway as I was setting up... they were a royal pain. Next time I'll donate it all to Goodwill.
For years I've gone to yard sales....furnished my whole house in Vt. with furniture from them & I had some great & unusual things from fabric hand-printed in tibet to African baskets to great wood tables and a 3 pc. sectional couch thAt was just the color & style that I wanted, for $150!....my best find was an old Navaho silver & turquoise bracelet that I bought for $6 & wore for several years & then sold in my consignment shop for $80. I actually enhanced my business with yard sale finds. If you have a good eye & know quality, you can get some great things.....really missing NOT having them in Jamaica!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.