that one can put in at this time of year? want to put in some plants dat will flower come spring etc...have a wide expanse to fill under a picture window....
wat r suitable bushes etc for a front yard here in Canada
Re: wat r suitable bushes etc for a front yard here in Canada
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">do u know ur temperature zone number... that will determine suitable bushes for ur climate. </div></div>
how u find dat out boo? mi realise dere is much to dat zone ting since even some dvds wont work...mi haffi go hook up di phillips player fi di ones from Europe etc....
Evan, your zone is between 3 and 4 since you are a bit further south than me. You may have pockets of 5 but if you want shrubs that are hrdy pernnials, stick to ones that do good in the 3 to low 4 range.
vannie, look at this here link
i think u in alberta, zoom in and click on the name of the city whipawt u deh and on the right hand side read the results. u looking for a plant hardiness zone number like 2a or 3b.
then mi wi look inna mi canadian planting guide and tell u what plants will do well in that temperature zone.
Her area can get away easily with zone 3 shrubs/plants. I live further north and dont really need to deal with the zone 2 business unless I simply like the plant.
Depending on the sun, wind, soil type, color scheme etc. under her window here are a few ideas:
Barberry
Azaleas - really nice in the spring
Lilac bushes
Russian Sage
Lavender
And a classic around here: Spireas
Mock Orange
Junipers
These are impossible to kill off during Canadian winters.
true nylah, sometimes u can have microclimates that vary from the general temp zone for ur area. like if u plant is going to be near sunny side of the house and is a brick house.
i was going to recommend forsythia because i just love how it signal the start of spring with those bright cheerful flowers. its hardy to zone 5 according to my book, but if vannie pick a nice sunny spot it should do well.
yes am in Alberta...outside of Calgaryi have a nice blue spruce in the front an nuff space along the front of the house....i have some shrubs but nuff space inbetween the shrubs to put flowers r flowery plants.....dat mi wan fi wuk wid cause di nearest smaddy ha dis lovely, loooovely garden of wild flowers it look like wich merges well wid di nature trail dat passes by fi dem house....
TRy George Bush senior. He survives in kennebunk Maine, which is the front lawn of Canada.
What have I won??
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">that one can put in at this time of year? want to put in some plants dat will flower come spring etc...have a wide expanse to fill under a picture window.... </div></div>
don't know what this is called but it's one of the first flowering shrub in the spring. it's very pretty. blooms last long and the leavs are pretty after it's finished blooming.
i had one that i took just a root fram smaddy place and in two years it was really big.