my living room is very tiny...so i have to work with what i got for space.
this means a sofa that is 72" long....not easy to find.
two leather recliners...one big and one more petite....and a rocking chair i bought in costa rica. got a coffee table, three small end tables, the tv cabinet and a small dry sink i use as my stereo cabinet.
I have 2 couches both the same, had the sofa love seat ting fi year an mi like di 2 couch better. coffee table, tv stero an eliptical, yoga mat an weights
have a 2 piece sectional (about the size of a loveseat and a half) and a loveseat for seating, computer armoire with closed doors so it does not look like a pc in deh, coffee table, and baby grand
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and because we know you like traditional here is a traditional living room from hgtv
Kia this is so it! I love it!
I would like to do some huge remodeling projects in the next few years. My current living room has a huge tv in it and I want it out. I would like a traditional sitting room with no kids/husband/food/drinks/tv. Wanna replace that area with one of those faux fireplaces like this....
Next thing is to kick the tv out into the sunroom...but that we have to get insulated and converted into a 4 season room. I want it to still have a multipurpose casual feel to it. Still want to have a 4 seater dining table there.
Something like this......
Also I currently have a daybed, and I am thinking of putting a sectional instead. Probably one of those movie theater style reclining sectionals since the TV is gonna be out there. Think that would be too much for the sunroom? Remember I want to maintain a casual feel to it.
And no I do not want patio furniture. I looked at some rattan furniture but it is not very comfortable or durable for everyday use IMO.
I would like to do some huge remodeling projects in the next few years. My current living room has a huge tv in it and I want it out. I would like a traditional sitting room with no kids/husband/food/drinks/tv.</div></div>
I am glad to read that it is over the next few years you would like to make a change because your two little girls will be right behind you for the next few years and it would be hard to implement those kind of changes (saying that from experience )
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Wanna replace that area with one of those faux fireplaces like this....
I know you said you want to move the TV out but without the TV, the living room may end up as a room that is not used. Trends have changed lately where people are downscaling homes and using all of their rooms. What may work is getting rid of the large TV, replacing it with a flat panel tv over a fireplace. Some companies may furniture to accommodate both so they have a 'built in' look.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Next thing is to kick the tv out into the sunroom...but that we have to get insulated and converted into a 4 season room. I want it to still have a multipurpose casual feel to it. Still want to have a 4 seater dining table there.
Something like this......
That is nice
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Also I currently have a daybed, and I am thinking of putting a sectional instead. Probably one of those movie theater style reclining sectionals since the TV is gonna be out there. Think that would be too much for the sunroom? Remember I want to maintain a casual feel to it.
And no I do not want patio furniture. I looked at some rattan furniture but it is not very comfortable or durable for everyday use IMO. </div></div>
I feel that theatre sofa is too heavy for the space? How about something that is woven instead of wicker.. eg below
Thanks for responding to Kia. I talked it over with the man and we both agreed that we would like to have a formal sitting room, just because we do have visitors at least once a week. I hate having to turn the tv off on the girls while my guests are there. So with the tv in the sunroom I could entertain visitors while my girls watch their Noggin.
Anyway, I have a huge dilemma that will call for a gut and remodel but that is for a next thread.
The next thing I wanted to ask is about skylights. I am thinking about placing a few in my living room as there are no windows in there. The living room opens out into the sunroom so that is where the light comes from. But it would be nice to have some natural light coming in. Anyone have any experience with having skylights installed?
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.