Re: Doing Your Own Attic?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes Gen - that's what my thought was too - it just seemed logical to me to throw out the old ratty insulation and just start anew.
But about half of the estimates we got said to leave the old - when I asked why - they say it's a plus to have the extra insulation there. Just seems dumb to me. We're going to tear out the old.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">from what i have observed, remove the old ones, dash dem weh.
</div></div> </div></div>why would you remove the old insulation?
it is unnecesary-plus you want a minimum of an R40 insulation value in the attic. so what you remove will only cost you more in new insulation.
have it blown in on top off the old. MAKE SURE you dont block the soffit. you can buy styrofoam channel vents that staple to the rafters. you may also want to add a couple extra vents on the roof to circulate more air into the attic.
BUT DONT REMOVE THE OLD-just have it blown in on top
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes Gen - that's what my thought was too - it just seemed logical to me to throw out the old ratty insulation and just start anew.
But about half of the estimates we got said to leave the old - when I asked why - they say it's a plus to have the extra insulation there. Just seems dumb to me. We're going to tear out the old.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">from what i have observed, remove the old ones, dash dem weh.
</div></div> </div></div>why would you remove the old insulation?
it is unnecesary-plus you want a minimum of an R40 insulation value in the attic. so what you remove will only cost you more in new insulation.
have it blown in on top off the old. MAKE SURE you dont block the soffit. you can buy styrofoam channel vents that staple to the rafters. you may also want to add a couple extra vents on the roof to circulate more air into the attic.
BUT DONT REMOVE THE OLD-just have it blown in on top