<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So mi get one now I guess I need propane and I'm clueless... help. Dont they sell the full tanks?
or do I have to buy the tank and then figure out where to get it filled? </div></div>
Suh why yuh neh buy a natural bas bbq which would eliminate de tank an de havin tuh run out inna de miggle av a session cah yuh run outta gyas? </div></div>
Yuh think it going use so much that it going run out? and what that bout natural gas after mi no have that </div></div>
How is your home heated, or the water tank it nuh natural gas or is it electric?
Barbeque grills are usually sold without a 20 lb propane tank.
Tanks usually cost about $30.00 empty. There are services where you buy a full tank, use it up and then bring the tank in and exchange it for a new full one. This usually costs more than buying your own tank and getting it refilled at a local propane refill station. Ask your neighbors who have a gas grill where they get their tanks filled.
In my area we have a hardware store that refills 20 lb tanks for $9.00.
Shop around.
Some advice: If you intend to grill a lot, buy two tanks. That way you will not run out half way through grilling something. Keep one hooked up and one full stored outside. They also sell a small gauge for about $20.00 that screws onto the tank between the tank and your grill hose which lets you know how much gas is left but then you wind up getting it filled when it is not out but just low and you lose that much gas as refills are always full price and not based on any gas left in the tank. Two tanks are better .
Grilling with any wooden structure overhead may well be illegal (check with your local fire department) and it may also void your homeowners or renters fire insurance.
You can use wood chips in your grill and get the same or better flavor than you would using a charcoal grill. These are available at any place that sells grills. You can get mesquite, apple or hickory.
You can also use pieces of any maple tree or apple trees including crab apples and you can use apple cores, apple tree leaves.
Soak wood chips, wrap them in a couple of folds of aluminum foil punch a bunch of small holes in the foil with a knife point and place the wrapped wet chips, leaves or apple cores under the grates but on top of the vaporizer bars that go over the burners. preheat the grill for about 12-15 minutes until the chips start smoking then put on your food.
You can then just throw the burned out foil package away when done cooking and everything is cold dead.
I can get jerk seasoning (Walkers Wood is the best IMO) at the Chinese supermarket near me and I just love it on chicken and pork.
You can also make your own. Recipes are on the web.
If you want some expert advice on the use of wood chips in your grill talk to Faithfull/Britisha who has posted some really good info on the subject.
She is probably the best source on this .
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.