wah mi can put pan ie? mi nuh waan use di regular spray cuz of di chemicals...unoo know any organic pesticide mi can use?
Bugs Nyamming up mi Calaloo
Re: Bugs Nyamming up mi Calaloo
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _____</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wah mi can put pan ie? mi nuh waan use di regular spray cuz of di chemicals...unoo know any organic pesticide mi can use? </div></div>
A friend recommended to me to use "Neem" oil on my tomatoes, which always seem to get attacked by worms....maybe that would work for the callaloo also. Check garden shops or else maybe online at "organic" gardening sites. The same thing happens to my callaloo after awhile. I have to pick it when it's not too big or it gets eaten by bugs!....Good luck!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _____</div><div class="ubbcode-body">my friend told me to use a mixture of budweiser beer and listerine...ever heard of that?
another said to use soap water....</div></div>
I've heard of using soap water already....give it a try....can't hurt! I've also been sprinkling ashes on my tomato plants since I can't get neem oil here.....several folks here told me about that one!
skells u haffi figga out the kind of bug to get the right fix.
i hear some talk about planting marigolds around them veggies fi deter bugs - either caw di bug dem don't like the stinking mary scent, or because dem prefer fi eat the marigold.
but like i said, it depend on what is nyammin u callaloo.
Yes TulipCaan wait fi dem mature
I found the real culprit.....darned beetles!!!
Went out after dark and saw them chewing away at my hard labor...
mi jus give up pan di organic ting an get some Sevin dust fi dem baxide
Hopefully dat will keep dem away fi di duration of di season...brite