1. Plant only one squash plant 2. Reap callalloo each day before di insect dem eat it up 3. "Heirloom" vegetables are overrated 4. Plant only two pepper plants 5. Seriously consider replacing wid flowers next year
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lessons learned in my raised garden bed:
1. Plant only one squash plant <span style="font-weight: bold">2. Reap callalloo each day before di insect dem eat it up</span> 3. "Heirloom" vegetables are overrated 4. Plant only two pepper plants 5. Seriously consider replacing wid flowers next year </div></div>
when you get tyad of it...pour bleach on di roots.
o, ahn dont judge me. mi juss a repeat what daddy said
mi juss ask daddy ahn he said it is vegetable that are easy to grow (as in most folks can grow them without issue). they also leave free seeds for someone else to plant
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pura_Vida_ILP</div><div class="ubbcode-body">when you get tyad of it...pour bleach on di roots.
o, ahn dont judge me. mi juss a repeat what daddy said </div></div>
Ask Daddy to tell mi more bout dis It won't kill di callaloo?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What are Heirloom vegetables? </div></div>
Adding on to what ILP daddy seh , I understand that an heirloom vegetable is a cultivar that was commonly grown during earlier periods in human history, but which is not used in modern large-scale agriculture. Many heirloom vegetables have kept their traits through open pollination, while fruit varieties such as apples have been propagated over the centuries through grafts and cuttings. The trend of growing heirloom plants in gardens has been growing in popularity in the United States and Europe over the last decade. not my words
what i have heard is that heirloom tomatoes are preferred due to the better flavor in the older varieties. Prior to mass production of tomatoes....the crop was grown for FLAVOR as opposed to the generic tomatoes you find now....that are grown for uniformity (to look pretty) and to travel well.
pretty looking tomatoes do not always equate to superior flavor....so they say.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Suh why you say they are overrated?
I have them on the top of my list for the start of my gardening season. </div></div>
Because what they promise to do in your garden is not what happens I had better success - output, taste - with regular tomatoes and cukes in my garden than with the heirloom variety.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Suh why you say they are overrated?
I have them on the top of my list for the start of my gardening season. </div></div>
Because what they promise to do in your garden is not what happens I had better success - output, taste - with regular tomatoes and cukes in my garden than with the heirloom variety. </div></div>
Maybe because they non-heirloom veggies are manufactured to grow 'better'.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.