shivering n panting....yessiday after her walk she did it ...she was warm n her nose was semi-warm...i turned on the fan an held her until her body cooled down n the panting stopped...she has been doing it periodically since...because it is a holiday the vet is closed..other than the periodic shivering accompanied by the panting she is active...runs around n interacts with her brother...she showed no problem, like stress or weakness on her walk....anybody else ever experience this..of course i am going to take her to the vet but it is still disconcerting
Help...emergency..help....my female is
Re: Help...emergency..help....my female is
Vannie, I have never had it happen before and I would be very concerned too. I also understand not wanting to incur an emergency animal hospital fee for something that is not an actual emergency.
I did a quick net search and the general consensus is that <span style="font-weight: bold">unexplained shaking or trembling</span> and <span style="font-weight: bold">panting excessively</span> are signs that <span style="font-weight: bold">she is in pain</span>.
The most helpful explanation I read for why she may be in pain even though it seems like she's not was here: http://www.familyvet.com/pain.htm
<span style="font-style: italic">...When we whine and complain about a sore back or bad tooth for instance, we get sympathy, love, concern and care. To a dog or cat, however, in the animal world, if they show their pain, they are fair game, in their mind they are going to be eaten by the other pack members who are just waiting for them to slip up! Therefore, they can only do one thing; do all they can to pretend that nothing is wrong...</span>
I read one out of the norm explanation for those symptoms where the person called the ASPCA and they said it sounded like a very serious allergic reaction so she gave her dog 2 children's Benadryl. I would be very hesitant to jump to that conclusion without speaking to someone myself.
I did call the Pet Poison Hotline (800-548-2423) one Christmas when Butterfly got ahold of some desiccant bags. They were very helpful and told me how to induce vomiting. I digress but I did want to include the number just in case you need it in the future.
Good luck!
Re: Help...emergency..help....my female is
tonx..she not doing it now...it seems to come n go n in between she is active , running up n down n eating....so dat is y i don't think is an emergency...but tekking her to the vet still....she deh here now looking at me while licking her lip..she just wax off some chicken bress