Blugiant's comments underscored the differences between how Americans and Jamaicans view animals. I didn't grow up with pets as a member of the family was allergic to fur. I know that this is not typical for Jamaican families. We had birds and fish...and that was it.
In Jamaica, I notice puss and dawg are kept outdoors. People aren't constantly petting them. They are fed table scraps often mixed with cornmeal. Non one would ever think of having a puss or dawg pon de bed or letting them lick the same plates on which they serve food to people.
The first time I saw this was as a teen when I visited a friend (White). After dinner, she gave the dog the plates from which we had just eaten and the dog licked the plate clean....I was absolutely horrified. Nasty!
Now I was sad when a horse I loved had to be put down but I can't relate to people being depressed for weeks on end because their dog or cat died. Sorry to sound heartless but I just don't get it. I even remember co-workers taking time off work because their pet had died. I just can't relate.
Cats, I don't care for most of them. They are really bold. They sense how I feel and always come to me (just like blondes). I remember these cats used to have a party at night in front of my place (where I used to live). They were noisy. I opened the door and said "SHUT UP" and even stamped my foot. They didn't back off at all and one of them was bold and looked like she was ready to fight me. After a while I would come down stairs and the cat would be up on the window sill staring into the apartment.
Don't care for them.
In Europe one thing I found bizarre in some places is that when the family goes out for an evening to a restaurant, they take the dog with them. I have seen this in France and Belgium. Sorry I don't get that either.
Anyway, what differences do you notice between Jamaican and North American approaches to pets? Do African Americans let pets sleep on their beds and lick their plates?
In Jamaica, I notice puss and dawg are kept outdoors. People aren't constantly petting them. They are fed table scraps often mixed with cornmeal. Non one would ever think of having a puss or dawg pon de bed or letting them lick the same plates on which they serve food to people.
The first time I saw this was as a teen when I visited a friend (White). After dinner, she gave the dog the plates from which we had just eaten and the dog licked the plate clean....I was absolutely horrified. Nasty!
Now I was sad when a horse I loved had to be put down but I can't relate to people being depressed for weeks on end because their dog or cat died. Sorry to sound heartless but I just don't get it. I even remember co-workers taking time off work because their pet had died. I just can't relate.
Cats, I don't care for most of them. They are really bold. They sense how I feel and always come to me (just like blondes). I remember these cats used to have a party at night in front of my place (where I used to live). They were noisy. I opened the door and said "SHUT UP" and even stamped my foot. They didn't back off at all and one of them was bold and looked like she was ready to fight me. After a while I would come down stairs and the cat would be up on the window sill staring into the apartment.
Don't care for them.
In Europe one thing I found bizarre in some places is that when the family goes out for an evening to a restaurant, they take the dog with them. I have seen this in France and Belgium. Sorry I don't get that either.
Anyway, what differences do you notice between Jamaican and North American approaches to pets? Do African Americans let pets sleep on their beds and lick their plates?
I bet his name is "Satan"