Does your dog sleep in bed with you?
Originally posted by Emperah View Post[ATTACH=CONFIG]1083[/ATTACH]
OH MY DOG!!! That's funny is a sick sorta way. Yuh ever hear of the band Three Dog Night dahJah? Do you know the meaning? If you would like I will fill you in, but mebbe you already know. I have never woken up to a sight such as this though!
Three dog night is not just the name of a band from the 70's.
Up on the tundra and cold climates like Alaska mail, medicine, and other supplies had to be delivered by dogsled. I believe the term was coined by the Inuit. Sometimes the trips would take days or weeks, that is actually how the Iditarod go their start. (Speaking of Iditarod I think Newton is going to be running in 2014, entries just closed today so the word is not official yet).
Anyway, how does one keep warm on a -40degree below or colder night in the Alaskan wilderness (or far northern Minnesota) while delivering mail and supplies and stay warm? They slept with their dogs. A cold night would be a 3 dog night. I imagine a 80 below night might involve 5 or 6!
My dogs are totally spoiled. We have a heated bed and Helga makes sure to remind me to turn the heater on soon after dinner except now that it is supposed to be Summer we are using it less.
Midnight used to sleep on our bed... but he liked to sleep on top of our feet, so he could keep an eye on the semi-closed bedroom door. He really was a watchdog by nature - he never failed to alert me when someone was coming. (not when someone just walked by the house on the sidewalk - but the first moment that someone stepped off the sidewalk and onto our slate pathway to the front door, he alarm-barked)