A dat mi a sey .. Mi tree year old a use di internet to learn to read for free.. This is the site she uses
She loves this site ..wance mi get har on .. all 2 hours shi pan it an mi cyan get har off.
And I am sure there are many more FREE sites that do the same. This way she is also learning computer skills.
Yuh fi si har a drag and drop wid di mouse like a pro (scared of her)
SORRY GUYS .. MI NEVA SI SEY UNU POST THE LINK ALREAD
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yup nothing beats flashcards with pictures and constantly talking to your child, puzzles with shapes, even the alpha blocks
there is a lady i see on the subway most evenings with her son, he must be about 14 mths. everyday i hear her pointing out to him
the <span style="font-weight: bold">train</span> is coming
look at the <span style="font-weight: bold">tracks</span>
here's the <span style="font-weight: bold">conductor</span>
look at the <span style="font-weight: bold">light</span>
he is very verbal parents just need to invest a little time each day with picture/word books and so on. </div></div>
Perfect! I did this with my kids too, and it worked so well. I also took 3x5 cards and wrote out things like, "window," "door," "table," "lamp," and taped them all over the house. Also, if you (the parents) are reading quietly often, then your child wants to imitate you, and he or she wants to be reading quietly just like you are.
When my kids were older and reading well, I'd hide books that I wanted them to read, or put them in a high place... if I would intimate that this book is "too grown up for you," they would read it.
For years now one of my daughter's Christmas present to me is a subscription to the London Review of Books.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.