Anyone tried it or knows of anyone who has? What's the result? Is it a scam?
Your Baby Can Read
Re: Your Baby Can Read
is it the Teach your Baby to Read book?
If is dis program mi can say certain adults whe mi know <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Click to reveal.. <input type="button" class="form-button" value="Show me!" onclick="toggle_spoiler(this, 'Yikes, my eyes!', 'Show me!')" /></div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div style="display: none;">moi</div></div></div> did learn when dem was a baby through this method. <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Click to reveal.. <input type="button" class="form-button" value="Show me!" onclick="toggle_spoiler(this, 'Yikes, my eyes!', 'Show me!')" /></div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div style="display: none;">dem use fi read the ny times when dem was 3 too</div></div></div> We used it with our dogs before the kids came along and the dogs learned to read certain words too
I would use this book vs invest in a program cause by the time pickney dem reach grade 2, dem all catch up and the playing field is level again (so dem seh)If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">suh mad puss can use it to?
lawd. </div></div>
if dem patient enoughIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
serious ting ..
we did use the method in the baby book and de dogs dem used to read the signs and do the commands or respond to the treat dinner and walk cardsIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This morning crica 4 am while I was up nursingmi see di ad a run an mi go order it...wat they do tell u is dat di 30 day trial is 14.99
what they dont tell u is that the whole package come to 200 bucks</div></div>
Skelly I was on that same crica 4am last weekend
I went to the website and got my cart full of the $14.95 "trial" and a whole set of books
when I went to check out an see $200+
dem crazy
Then I went to amazon.com - this review said it all...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Videos No Substitute For Good Parenting, December 23, 2008
By J. Barteck - See all my reviews
In reading all these reviews, a couple of things struck me:
1) As a parent of a child who was taught without the benefit of these videos, I'm not seeing shocking results from the enthusiastic reviewers. Our daughter was as far, if not farther, along in her learning development as those of these parents here. It was simply a matter of my wife and I committing to spend the time with her all along.
A child can recognize words or anticipate actions after being exposed to them repetitively - even if those words appear somewhere other than in the video. I'll be as gentle as possible when I say: DUH! The truth is that if you look up the research, you'll see that chimpanzees can be taught to "read" the same way. A great deal of all childhood learning is accomplished by simple repetition of images, concepts and actions: it certainly isn't rocket science and you don't need to pay someone else to demonstrate that for you. Just try it yourself and see if you don't get comparable or even superior results.
You don't need to buy these videos - you just need to take the time you would have otherwise spent watching the same video over and over every day twice a day and spend quality play time with your child: talk to them, point to objects and say their names, show them pictures with the name of the object written below it, and so on. It'll be a much less tedious and repetitive process and your child will benefit from the daily variety in learning.
2) The parents who bought these videos are obviously involved parents - otherwise, they wouldn't have bought them in the first place. They invested time and energy with their children a couple of times a day every day. When compared to the children of less involved parents, should we be surprised that they might significantly outperform? These reviewers are definitely underestimating how much their own work with their children, rather than the videos, were responsible for their children's progress.
Bottom line: The videos are a crutch. If you have a bad foot, then you need it. But if your feet are fine, then using the crutch can actually impede your progress. If you have no idea how to start "learning play" with your child, then they're a good place to begin. Don't be fooled into thinking that it's a magic wand though. It's a tool in your toolbox, and one you should quickly leave behind once you get the hand of engaging with your child.</div></div>
Go to the dollar store and get some index cards
Print pictures off the internet
save uh money girl
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> http://www.starfall.com/
yup nothing beats flashcards with pictures and constantly talking to your child, puzzles with shapes, even the alpha blocks
there is a lady i see on the subway most evenings with her son, he must be about 14 mths. everyday i hear her pointing out to him
the <span style="font-weight: bold">train</span> is coming
look at the <span style="font-weight: bold">tracks</span>
here's the <span style="font-weight: bold">conductor</span>
look at the <span style="font-weight: bold">light</span>
he is very verbalparents just need to invest a little time each day with picture/word books and so on.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
he is very verbalparents just need to invest a little time each day with picture/word books and so on. </div></div>
Yes, until you regret it later