Story from MoBay
A St James mom, who thought she was delivering twins,got an unexpected bonus in the delivery room when a third baby emerged. Jacqueline Miller-Brown, 40, a grocery shop operator of Cambridge, recently gave birth in August to three girls — two identical — at the Cornwall Regional Hospital in Montego Bay, in a case that shocked her, her medical team, as well as her husband Aldaman.
“We were really expecting twins, that’s what the ultrasound showed, but when I was delivering we realised that it was triplets,” said Miller-Brown, who also has two boys, ages 17 and four years old.
“When I had the first two, the nurse took them away to clean them up, but soon afterwards I started to have excessive pain, so I called her [the nurse] back and told her [about the pain] and she said it was caused from induced labour.
She however decided to have another look, and when she did, she shouted: ‘oh my God, it is another one,!” a smiling Miller- Brown told the Jamaica Observer West.
She added that her husband who lives overseas and had done most of the shopping in preparation for the arrival of twins, was even more surprised at the delivery of the three babies, who were born within 35 minutes. “When I called him and told him that I had three babies he was shocked,” Miller-Brown stressed.
“Wha you just sey, not two, three?” Are you sure all of them are yours? she said her husband enquired. Miller-Brown added that the nurse who attended to her was also surprised when she discovered that the ultrasound had apparently missed a third baby. The triplets — Brianna, Bianca and Brineca who were born on August 25 — are all said to be in good health.
Miller-Brown explained that since their birth her husband has had to go back shopping for the “unexpected baby.” “Since he had only shopped for two, he had to go back to get another car seat, the stroller he bought was a twinstroller so he had to change that and of course he had to buy other clothes,” she told the Observer West.
Head of the Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department at the Cornwall Regional Hospital Dr Judith Neathly- Roberts, described the birth of the triplets as “unusual and a pleasant surprise.”
“It is unusual because most triplets are in-vitro fertilisation [test-tube babies] and the fact that these babies were born naturally — no Caesarean section as is usually the case when triplets are born — so it is really unusual and a pleasant surprise,” she argued. The last set of triplets born at the state-run Cornwall Regional Hospital was delivery by Caesarean section in September 2009.
In the meantime, Miller- Brown is appealing to the private sector for help with her triplets. “They eat a lot and as you know it takes a lot of money to care for babies, so we would be very grateful if we could get some help with them,” she said.
A St James mom, who thought she was delivering twins,got an unexpected bonus in the delivery room when a third baby emerged. Jacqueline Miller-Brown, 40, a grocery shop operator of Cambridge, recently gave birth in August to three girls — two identical — at the Cornwall Regional Hospital in Montego Bay, in a case that shocked her, her medical team, as well as her husband Aldaman.
“We were really expecting twins, that’s what the ultrasound showed, but when I was delivering we realised that it was triplets,” said Miller-Brown, who also has two boys, ages 17 and four years old.
“When I had the first two, the nurse took them away to clean them up, but soon afterwards I started to have excessive pain, so I called her [the nurse] back and told her [about the pain] and she said it was caused from induced labour.
She however decided to have another look, and when she did, she shouted: ‘oh my God, it is another one,!” a smiling Miller- Brown told the Jamaica Observer West.
She added that her husband who lives overseas and had done most of the shopping in preparation for the arrival of twins, was even more surprised at the delivery of the three babies, who were born within 35 minutes. “When I called him and told him that I had three babies he was shocked,” Miller-Brown stressed.
“Wha you just sey, not two, three?” Are you sure all of them are yours? she said her husband enquired. Miller-Brown added that the nurse who attended to her was also surprised when she discovered that the ultrasound had apparently missed a third baby. The triplets — Brianna, Bianca and Brineca who were born on August 25 — are all said to be in good health.
Miller-Brown explained that since their birth her husband has had to go back shopping for the “unexpected baby.” “Since he had only shopped for two, he had to go back to get another car seat, the stroller he bought was a twinstroller so he had to change that and of course he had to buy other clothes,” she told the Observer West.
Head of the Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department at the Cornwall Regional Hospital Dr Judith Neathly- Roberts, described the birth of the triplets as “unusual and a pleasant surprise.”
“It is unusual because most triplets are in-vitro fertilisation [test-tube babies] and the fact that these babies were born naturally — no Caesarean section as is usually the case when triplets are born — so it is really unusual and a pleasant surprise,” she argued. The last set of triplets born at the state-run Cornwall Regional Hospital was delivery by Caesarean section in September 2009.
In the meantime, Miller- Brown is appealing to the private sector for help with her triplets. “They eat a lot and as you know it takes a lot of money to care for babies, so we would be very grateful if we could get some help with them,” she said.