Skells I fall into that category as the "Outside" Siblings. My siblings are as follows:
one older sister (was before mi puppa married)
three sister and one bredda with him wife. Mi and the second one (brother a same age)
then one bredda outside who is the same age as the last sister with the wife
and one sister who is after the marriage the over outside too.
The older sister welcome me wid open arms and the wutless puppa never tell them bout mi when him find out. The ex-wife and one sister just found out about me one week ago and made cantact.
the outside bredda love me like cook food but me nuh what the response of the others will be as we go along.
Honestly, it nuh badda mi if dem nuh want deal it me but I would love to get to know my other sisters. The bredda that is the same age as me died.
Well I found out about my Jamaican family when I was 15 or so. My Granparents well grandmother was really the one that was adamant that I not contact them, when I turned eighteen I travelled to jamaica to meet them. (I grew up with the granparents)At eighteen I was of age and could do as I pleased
My Parents split up when I was nine months, I was told he had died also they never told me my Dad was black and I do not look biracial. When I eventually got there he died shortly after, he was an alcoholic. I do not think he told my Mom he had four children in Jamaica and she refuses to discuss it with me also I now knew that my grandmother was instrumental in breaking them up cause he was black.
Anyway I found a sister and three brothers in jamaica, one brother has fallen through the crack I think poverty contributed to it, he even tried to hurt me years ago when I was there. Anyway glad I found my sis and that I could make a difference in her life helping financially now she is self supporting.
With the exception of one brother and sister why dem so damn beggi beggi wha me luk like money grow pon me They (brothers) seem to think I owe them something.
Anyway I am glad I found my sister as we are so similar in ways, especially pon the dog thing in the house, my Canadian family always think I was strange when I went off on them bout dog lying on the chairs and jumping up on the bed. My jamaican sis the same way. I totally believe in the genes thing
On a side note I think if I looked black they would have put me in a home or up for adoption. That's why sometime me na like me mumma iiena
i would probably die if i found out that i had an outside brother or sister older or younger as then everything about the one man I have ever trusted would be ruined. Don't think I would make contact with them because i wouldn't want to believe it is true.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChillnWitUSkelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">your father has left a sibling out there who is a couple decades younger than you are.
How would you react???
Before my Father passed almost 29 years ago, he was caught cheating with a younger woman. We all knew who she was. His best friends niece. Anyhow, after he died, the girl had the nerve to show up at the house with her sympathy carrying a red headed baby boy. Nobody said anything about who's child he was. I was 12 1/2 but I wondered if it was my brother. Nobody has red hair like his hair. One sister had sandy red hair and the rest of us had black or jet black hair. Nothing like this child.
I have no idea where these people live nor do I care really. But curiosity has gotten me a few times through the years wondering if I have a baby brother out there on my Dad's side. I don't mention it to my Mom or anybody though.
a family member of mine had an outside son. No one in the family knew anything about the child or his mother. Then the mother died, and her family brought the child and gave him to the wife The wife has the reputation of being "touched" so we were all quite surprised when she took in the little boy. all the other kids treat him as a full brother as do both parents
I do wonder though if him mother had lived, would the siblings know about him I don't think so....
My dad was also the outside child....my aunts didn't meet him until he was 12.
All your responses are typical of most Jamaican family structure. Wives knew about their husbands infidelity but never complained. That's was just how it was in those days. My girldfriend's mother was 16 years old when she was born. The teenage mother took the child to the boyfriend's wife and she raised that child as her own. My friend never knew that 'Mama' was not her mother until she was getting ready to do her GCE and had to bring in her birth certificate and it was her older bother (by some months) who compared the birth certificates and noted that something was off - the nine months between the 2 of them was just not there. Her real mother visited her but she was known as Miss "M" she thought this lady was a cousin. Wives always know when husbands cheat - they just don't want anyone to tell them. My ex-husband has one of the "kids" he is now 27 and is a good boy.
**Edited to add that I am not the mother of this child.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.