she fling her dinner pan ie grung sake a mi tell ar seh she cudden get no popsicle til she done eat...mi madda seh mi shuddan dus har behine an mek she help clean up..instead i sent her to the bathroom...gave her a bath...and put her to bed...it has been 3 hours since...her father seh mi too strict...what unoo think?
explain dat she must use her words to say 'i feel angry that I cant have my popsicle' She was clearly frustrated and did not know how to say 'i'm mad'.
then
She gets to help clean up the mess and all is well again
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no need to dust ar batty
explain dat she must use her words to say 'i feel angry that I cant have my popsicle' She was clearly frustrated and did not know how to say 'i'm mad'.
then
She gets to help clean up the mess and all is well again </div></div>
Sorry mi nuh agree wid de Lipschitz remedy.
She knew she would get the popsicle <span style="font-weight: bold">after</span> she was done eating - clearly she did not want to wait and was testing her Mom to see if she could have her way by throwing a tantrum.
The first time she does this and sees that there are repercussions she will rethink her strategy nex time.
So mi seet.
Fuss time Dan came home from daycare an fling harself dung pon de grung - I waxed her good an propa an mek har know that in MY house that behaviour is unacceptable. mi si she mek fe dweet a second time - an is like de memory lik har and she sekkle wid a half hearted bawl instead.
mi nah mek no pickney embarrass mi outta road.
Anyway - maybe mi too ole school - nowadays parents are big into de long argument wid de pickney dem.
De bible seh "foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child but the rod of correction shall drive it out"
she can keep her daddy company..
never had a discussion per se...just told her that she not to throw her plate on the floor while i dragged her off to the bath
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: A_lil_Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">no need to dust ar batty
then
She gets to help clean up the mess and all is well again </div></div>
Sorry mi nuh agree wid de Lipschitz remedy.
She knew she would get the popsicle <span style="font-weight: bold">after</span> she was done eating - clearly she did not want to wait and was testing her Mom to see if she could have her way by throwing a tantrum.
The first time she does this and sees that there are repercussions she will rethink her strategy nex time.
So mi seet.
Fuss time Dan came home from daycare an fling harself dung pon de grung - I waxed her good an propa an mek har know that in MY house that behaviour is unacceptable. mi si she mek fe dweet a second time - an is like de memory lik har and she sekkle wid a half hearted bawl instead.
mi nah mek no pickney embarrass mi outta road.
Anyway - maybe mi too ole school - nowadays parents are big into de long argument wid de pickney dem.
De bible seh "foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child but the rod of correction shall drive it out" </div></div>
look like we did go a de same school wid de same teacha
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelli0n</div><div class="ubbcode-body">she fling her dinner pan ie grung sake a mi tell ar seh she cudden get no popsicle til she done eat...mi madda seh mi shuddan dus har behine an mek she help clean up..instead i sent her to the bathroom...gave her a bath...and put her to bed...it has been 3 hours since...her father seh mi too strict...what unoo think? </div></div>
Your kids are really cute...
Probably you know that Im for never spanking, yelling, shaming, blaming...so, In the story you tell above I would have handled it differently. I never cared if my kids didn't finish their dinners. And there was never a reward for eating. I never said, "You can't have dessert unless you finish..." So the option of having or not having a popsicle never came up. If my child wasn't eating, or if time had passed and it was pretty clear she was finished I'd say something like, "Are you finished?" They aren't going to starve... know what I mean? You make the meals, and if they aren't hungry, then cool. Why not just respect that she is done?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelli0n</div><div class="ubbcode-body">she can keep her daddy company..
never had a discussion per se...just told her that she not to throw her plate on the floor while i dragged her off to the bath </div></div>
I know I'm late, but daddy shouldn't give her any popsicle when you're not looking...seeing as how you're "too strict" and all.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.