Her first red ribbon!
Re: Back in the saddle yet again
so, we chatted after, about equestrian goals. which are very lofty indeed, feel almost unattainable. trying to squelch regrets about time lost. talked about what would it take to say, qualify for PanAm 2015...
the path, the bit of it i could glean, would be complex and expensive.
she'd have to, at least, do a number of competitions per year to attain some ranking. and to a certain degree, she and a horse would be identified as a combination. but she has no horse 
we agreed on first things first. get a professional "benchmark" assessment of her riding skills, then develop a training plan. will be contacting the school about that shortly.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
a bit of history - the riding school a the time was owned by an English woman and her Canadian husband. they had a huuuuuuuge falling out, and hubby wrote a long character assassination of his spouse and sent to everybody they had ever emailed.
:whoo: i got one, mi still have it save. 
so marriage bruk dung, school was sold, have new name. </div></div>
This wouldn't happen to be on the outskirts of Milton, by chance?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">oops!
forgive the shaky video, i was startled.

she insist seh a nuh fall off she fall off, a slide off she slide off. regardless, twas a lickle humbling. hank refused the cross rails, and she wasnt expecting it.
she made him do it right next time, tho.
Hank!!
Lovely horse and lovely daughter.. I can understand why the camera is shaky.. It is very scary when they fall Girlkia has missed quite a bit I hope to get her back in the saddle this fall.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so, we chatted after, about equestrian goals. which are very lofty indeed, feel almost unattainable. trying to squelch regrets about time lost. talked about what would it take to say, qualify for PanAm 2015...
the path, the bit of it i could glean, would be complex and expensive.
she'd have to, at least, do a number of competitions per year to attain some ranking. and to a certain degree, she and a horse would be identified as a combination. but she has no horse 
we agreed on first things first. get a professional "benchmark" assessment of her riding skills, then develop a training plan. will be contacting the school about that shortly.
for the new goals but
at the cost.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
a bit of history - the riding school a the time was owned by an English woman and her Canadian husband. they had a huuuuuuuge falling out, and hubby wrote a long character assassination of his spouse and sent to everybody they had ever emailed.
:whoo: i got one, mi still have it save. 
so marriage bruk dung, school was sold, have new name. </div></div>
This wouldn't happen to be on the outskirts of Milton, by chance?
naw, other direction - east.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
that's the kind a thing I see in the movies.
but si yah Hank nuh easy at all </div></div>
her first fall, a few years ago, was harder, and she cried. i live in fear of falls enuh, caw a fall from a horse paralyzed christopher reeve. and u hear bout broken bones, ppl teking months to recover all kinna sittn.
my horse education continues. the horse dawta fell off of was not an appaloosa but a dapple gray

which means it is a youngish gray (white) horse that will turn evenly gray later.
i thought hank was an appaloosa, like penny. but u can tell the difference round the eyes and mouth. appaloosas always have that mottled effect.
here's penny
an update - yesterday daughter got a third in a university level equestrian competition
okay, so it was entry level division (meaning over cross rails, not vertical jumps), however:
*it was only her second time riding at this level (her first was last week and she did not place)
*she was competing against 20 other riders
*her ribbon was the highest placing for the school team (only three riders, and she's the newest recruit)
very proud of her. picture soon come.

it looks like so much fun.