How much time do you spend doing stuff with your kids? This is directed at the parents of kids say 8 and up as 8 seems to be the age where the kids appear to be more independent and want to play with friends.
Spending time with your kids
Re: Spending time with your kids
read books at nite still/ tuck them in
used to have game nite but mr lb is a sore loser so it was anything but bonding time
eat dinner with them...or most times i watch them eat dinner even if im not eating
being that they are relatively close in age and the same sex they seem to be quite content with each other's company for the most part...
what else could i be doing?.. me too owl fi guh tek up bicycle riding now
do you feel you 'have to' entertain them or do you allow them to say 'they're bored'?
This weekend we had a lot of work to do around the house and not many kids were around for playing. I dont remember my parents making playdates and stopping what I was doing to play with me.. So I was thinking sign of the times- the constant 'on' must be doing something instead of just being.... best thing this weekend was the power cut -- made us all slow down and just 'be'If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
well don't your kids just get summer holidays? them used to the school/ extracurricular thing, so it's going to take them a little while to decompress.
I don't remember my parents going out of their way to "entertain" me either, but i think that somewhere in there is a happy medium..
<span style="font-family: 'Comic Sans MS'"> My two young men are at the stage where they are reflecting on their recent childhood. You know what they recall and want to relive? Walking down to Rock Creek and jumping from rock to rock looking for wild life and laughing at their mom who called their crawfish signtings "janga"; building this amazing igloo during a particular bad snow storm in DC (schools closed, mom wanted them out of the house); one hot lazy summer watching ants and other heebie jeebies in the front lawn and using the video camera to record ant movie; fishing with dad and cutting up the bait; adventures in the back yard shrubs they named "Jurassic Park" and playing with plastic dinosaurs. Not once have my children mentioned the arts camp, computer camp, music camp, soccer, etc. etc. <span style="font-size: 8pt"><span style="font-style: italic">Slapping forehead right now.</span></span></span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">BOAL suh CB yuh nuh know how fi ride bicycle ?? </div></div>
my secret shame
actually me nuh even know...last time i ride a bicycle was bout *mumble* years ago
I guess I have another 4 more years to go with Jacob but I remember with the older one...at 8 years old I was just getting use to being a single parent, working nuff overtime to cova di billsthere was a community center where he spend most of his summer days (in NY)and they did a lot of recreative stuff. he just knew that mommy took care of the important stuff and if he needed me I am there, no questions asked.
<span style="font-family: 'Comic Sans MS'">Kurlie. When all is said and done, you do what you have to do as a parent and take care of the big stuff. Our pickney dem doan need to be micro-managed and their entire day and lives planned out. Dem fi know how to handle what dem have been given. Blessings (((Kurlie)))</span>
you are on point gungo which is why this summer there is only 2 or 3 weeks of day camps and then the rest of time fi <span style="text-decoration: line-through">drive me crazy</span>do outdoor things together.
We are planning lots of beach day trips, museum trips and bike rides. We will see as the weeks progressIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.