<span style="font-size: 11pt">Every time I have to intercede between a parent and their bright young offspring, I find that I have to bring them aside and explain that, the experiences They went through growing up, they did so that they youth of the day, will not have to go through it again!!
I would like to hear from people on their views on this topic.
How many of believe that their experiences were not mere opportunities of learning , that is best analyzed for the principles to be passed on. That is instead of the experiences to the youth?
That is a choice between learning through theory and practice.
Learning through practice is usually more taxing.
Many never survive the experience to even learn the underlying truths, others have been so traumatized that they end up being permanently injured by the experience.
Learning through theory may not always be as dramatic.
... but in many cases can be even more so than practice.
Knowledge through theory are passed on on a daily basis by technology these days, without the participants even being aware.
Ever watch a movie? what about playing video games, or a play??
these are all examples of learning through theory.
we may not even realize that we are learning from the usual soaps, and other forms of entertainment.
...isn't it interesting?
But more interesting is that the majority does not recognize this as theory, where we can visualize without experiencing the reality.
isn't technology great??
Incidentally I just came back from playing the latest remote surgery video game!! a million dollar game, but a game anyway. since no human-being was hurt in doing it.
No I don't do surgery, but i like to be abreast of the latest gadget, so that if They had to use it on me or my family members I have a layman's knowledge about the procedures. </span>
I would like to hear from people on their views on this topic.
How many of believe that their experiences were not mere opportunities of learning , that is best analyzed for the principles to be passed on. That is instead of the experiences to the youth?
That is a choice between learning through theory and practice.
Learning through practice is usually more taxing.
Many never survive the experience to even learn the underlying truths, others have been so traumatized that they end up being permanently injured by the experience.
Learning through theory may not always be as dramatic.
... but in many cases can be even more so than practice.
Knowledge through theory are passed on on a daily basis by technology these days, without the participants even being aware.
Ever watch a movie? what about playing video games, or a play??
these are all examples of learning through theory.
we may not even realize that we are learning from the usual soaps, and other forms of entertainment.
...isn't it interesting?
But more interesting is that the majority does not recognize this as theory, where we can visualize without experiencing the reality.
isn't technology great??
Incidentally I just came back from playing the latest remote surgery video game!! a million dollar game, but a game anyway. since no human-being was hurt in doing it.
No I don't do surgery, but i like to be abreast of the latest gadget, so that if They had to use it on me or my family members I have a layman's knowledge about the procedures. </span>
this should be in Parenting and some paragraph spacing would help as well

and ask her if we have nuh cow fi milk or nuh hog fi feed out a door so weh she waan mi fi do. an she muss tap grudge mi cah mi life easier dan fi har own... lawd mi was fiesty.
I thought he spent his whole childhood in St E farming an tying out goat an using pit tilet an going stand pipe fi wata an dem ting deh. So he used to work us hard in the summers, buy goat (we lived in a residential area) so we had to walk FAR FAR twice a day fi goh move di damn goats. An mek wi shell pimento an stuff like that.
fi goh board out wid him fadda girlfren