How do you deal with those things that you have to sell stuff to make money. I always have a problem with every body coming into the office with different fundraisers for children school this charity and that charity and Adale brought home is first fundraiser 1 week into the school year. It is to buy a coupon book and hopefully sell some. While I will buy one I am not comfortable approaching people as I know how I feel about being bombarded with all the things people are selling but wonder if it will look a way if I give them the money for my one.
School Fundraiser
Re: School Fundraiser
I don't
I buy what I need but will not solicit others to do the same.
Mi rather just write a check fi a direct donation to the schoolIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I am so glad I am not alone
Imanni brought home his first fundraiser last week too and I keep looking at the thing feeling guilty cause I have not sold anything
Imanni has said every day since he brought it home "Don't forget the money Momma"
What I hate is that they might make my son feel a way because I refuse to beg charity from my co-workers.
i doan sell nutten.
if i can i will purchase a ticket or item or two.
me caan forget the time when dem did come to the classroom and hype up the pikney dem wid all di wonderful gifts dem could get if them parents sell X or y amount a items
eventually me did just tell the children dem seh me nuh waan hear bout that particular fundraiser again
oonu shouldnt feel anyway about selling (or not selling).
when those fundraisers go out, they go out with the understanding that most of the student body (parents included) will NOT participate.
because it is to raise funds schools are happy with ANY funds the campaign generates.
<span style="font-weight: bold">so far wi have the following in full swing:</span>
football restaurant card
class of 2012 discount book
dance company restaurant night
class of 2013 holiday sales
mens/womens basketball poinsetta sales
field hockey chocolate campaign
publications dept. picture fundraiser
Model UN Bullroast
ROTC t-shirts
mi sure mi left few out....
mi not selling anyting and mi nuh want nubaddy come near mi wid dem tings eedah
i find it beyond tacky (but dats just me)
mi juss write a check to the school.
this school goal is 250,000 for this year. (we haffi pay fi the class attendants suh it gone up)
one fundraiser is today actually , ice cream social. guh school, buy ice cream cone, run off yuh mouth wid odda parents and teachers, eat ice cream cone and guh home
Thanks guys ... Just wanted to see if I was the only one who was uncomfortable with this idea.
Gen I like the ice cream social ... that I would do or things like that but the selling thing and begging thingand I just dont want adale to feel pressured although he thinks it's a prize.
We have an annual fall festival at one of the local gardening/landscaping shops.
The pony rides, face paintings, the games and proceeds from the sales of plants & other items go to the school. Even gift certificates from the store.. We buy a gift certificate fi wi and den use it throughout the year. An excellent way to budget your gardening needs for the year and help the local school.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
twiny mi explain to mi daughter that those are fool fool prizes
and if she want one prize she can pick out something at the drugstore fi 1.00 or when we guh target she get fi pick out something from the 1.00 bin dem.
but keep in mind she also get allowance suh mi nuh really cater to the "picking out of prizes" too too tuff.
this school does not participate in the fool fool catalog sales.
another fund raiser is the "reading log"
the kids log how many minutes they read and they get family to sponsor them @ whatever rate per minute and then submit checks for those. the kids always compete to see who can read the most minutes over about 3 mths
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiny</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks guys ... Just wanted to see if I was the only one who was uncomfortable with this idea.
Gen I like the ice cream social ... that I would do or things like that but the selling thing and begging thingand I just dont want adale to feel pressured although he thinks it's a prize. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bandanna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Imanni's school has partnered with the local grocery stores and every time you shop you can swipe a card and a percentage of your purchase will be donated to your child's school</div></div>
I like that one, especially with the card swip optionIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.