Re: Been there Done that...tips and tales
CBeez
Some personal experiences of being a parent, in no particular order. Mi prefer dem now dem older
- pickney wi lie to yuh.
- pickney wi mek yuh walk an talk
- You must be your child's advocate especially in front of teachers.
- Sure you love your child. But yuh noh haffi *like* dem all di time.
- Give yourself permission to feel this way.
- You don't have to know everything about your child.
- No, really. Some things you're better off NOT knowing.
- You are not always responsible for the way your child thinks.
- You can't be a mommy all the time.
- Stop yourself before you say "my child would NEVER do that"
- Remember when you gave birth to your first born and you secretly thought "I could never love another child like I love this one"? That's actually true. Don't feel guilty. Just do your best.
- Accept that you may love your children the same *amount* but you do love them *differently*.
- Don't get into the habit of doing the exact thing for one child what you do for the other. This can get tiresome and it is fake.
- Allow and encourage your children's imagination. You don't have to do anything here except just give them space.
- Get them, especially girls, involved in organized sports.
- You've heard this "It is better for your child to be a big fish in a small pond than the other way round" Believe it.
Love,
Peasie
CBeez
Some personal experiences of being a parent, in no particular order. Mi prefer dem now dem older
- pickney wi lie to yuh.
- pickney wi mek yuh walk an talk
- You must be your child's advocate especially in front of teachers.
- Sure you love your child. But yuh noh haffi *like* dem all di time.
- Give yourself permission to feel this way.
- You don't have to know everything about your child.
- No, really. Some things you're better off NOT knowing.
- You are not always responsible for the way your child thinks.
- You can't be a mommy all the time.
- Stop yourself before you say "my child would NEVER do that"
- Remember when you gave birth to your first born and you secretly thought "I could never love another child like I love this one"? That's actually true. Don't feel guilty. Just do your best.
- Accept that you may love your children the same *amount* but you do love them *differently*.
- Don't get into the habit of doing the exact thing for one child what you do for the other. This can get tiresome and it is fake.
- Allow and encourage your children's imagination. You don't have to do anything here except just give them space.
- Get them, especially girls, involved in organized sports.
- You've heard this "It is better for your child to be a big fish in a small pond than the other way round" Believe it.
Love,
Peasie