a kid should spend 10-15 minutes (no longer) reviewing EVERYTHING they did that day in school.
now that can be adjusted so say if he has HW in math..then no need to review...as the HW is most likely practice of what they did that day.
if this was a practice in more households then the habaloo nights before a test wouldnt happen, as the "studying" would have already occured.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PRoLurkah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">kia u start this with boykia?
does he review everything he did in school that day? (meaning carrying home all the books) or one subject a day?
how u set it up? </div></div>
yes from grade 3 we did do that and now we starting the same with girlKia
we have 2hrs for HW each day. when homework done that 'study hall' time is to review what was done that day and to read forward to see if there are any questions so he can write them down and ask.
so far I find that the teachers at my daughter's school nuh really place much emphasis on HW or any work outside of dem class, which is beyond baffling.
<span style="font-style: italic">lawd give mi the strength to get choo the next 13 years of school </span>
how does this work if the child does not bring home the books ?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PRoLurkah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">kia u start this with boykia?
does he review everything he did in school that day? (meaning carrying home all the books) or one subject a day?
how u set it up? </div></div>
yes from grade 3 we did do that and now we starting the same with girlKia
we have 2hrs for HW each day. when homework done that 'study hall' time is to review what was done that day and to read forward to see if there are any questions so he can write them down and ask. </div></div>
gen a child simply needs <span style="font-weight: bold">his notebook (or dittos/worksheets)</span> in order for the review to occur. the review should be of things that <span style="font-weight: bold">they did, with their own hands</span>. The book wasnt done with their hands, so reviewing with it isnt really necessary.
now if they want to reread a chapter in a book or look at other examples, then simply ask that the teacher to send home a copy of the book or go buy it yourself.
in the case of my subject...I send home nothing, but nuff students go out and buy copies of what i reference in class and then mark those copies up and make notes for themselves...which btw is the most benificial, as the notes/review have more meaning to them.
i was referring to notebooks but maybe this school different than jersey ones
in order for any review over here to take place of everything or anything done in school that day I would have to ask the child what was done that day, find the subject matter in one of "my" books and have her review it.
the only HW that comes home is a math sheet (yes mi aware that math intertwines with other subjects), so that is what is being reviewed currently.
ok. i was just looking at the teacher's website for a daily schedule, and me nuh see none.
this teacher (unlike alll the others that i have dealt with so far), nuh seem to respond to my email, so i gwaan send her a note tomorrow (this seems to get a quick response), and ask her for one
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.