<span style="font-style: italic">inspired by the where do you want to travel to thread in GD and mo-fire's wanderlust.</span>

when do you thnk it is safe/easier/manageable (dont know what word to use) to travel with small children to far off places and not just around the corner to grandma's?
do you feel it is feasible to take your child somewhere exotic? Can you enjoy yourself as an adult as well as a parent with a child?
for those that have travelled far with children, are there things you now realize you have to consider that you didnt anticipate before?
do you worry about medical issues with your kids? If so, what have you done to help easy your concerns?
I think travel is the best things for children to learn about their environment. My parents flung me on a plane by myself whenever they could but that didnt start until I was around 9 yrs old. If we travelled before then it was to Jamaica or NYC where family resides. But not "foreign" places until I was older.
So, I'd like feedback for those who love to travel and have small kids. I'd love to know how you make it all work without you having to give up your travelling dreams as well. How do the children repsond to it. Which parts are a struggle and which part of travelling is easy with little kids.

need i say more.
, you may have to seek out and/or carry specific stuff for the kid, but at the end of the day if yuh cant find dem special biscuit too bad, mek dem adapt to the farrin biscuit 
Some ppl make it seem like a daunting, almost impossible task to do, so I wondered if others saw it differently.
. It may seem like a lot of work and expensive, but truth be told, I am a single income, single parent, and i don't make a lot of money! When we travel, i investigate flights for MONTHS in advance to find the deals, and we stay in guesthouses, families or hostels - these place are often the ones where you really get immersed in the local culture and have things open up to you that otherwise wouldn't. We also coook for ourselves where possible, make our own snacks and take local transport (another way to soak up another place and meet people). I have also looked at "tour" options and every time, my budget is more than 50% less what a tour with airfare would cost... but again, everyone is entitled to personal preferences - many people feel more safe on a guided tour, and they is totally okay, as long as you take your kids with you when you travel, you will create memories for yourself and your children that will forever be imprinted in your hearts!!</span>

This may be a difficult question to actually answer but I'll ask it anyways.
Now when I look back, it must have been hard on my parents to send me off on my own. I think I would have a hard time doing it too, or going away myself and leaving any kids behind.