in our jurisdiction.
kids and parents are warned in august (when school starts)
they are told what the school system defines as bullying.
they are told what COMAR says about the behavior of bullying.
parents and kids sign that they acknowledge and agree with school system.
after that..we call the police. period.
pikney and parents understand police & district attorneys for some reason.
thank god it has nipped MOST of it in the bud.
mi looking at the case of phoebe and the backlash against the school. apparently the school did not do enough (ignored the complaints and signs)
mi know mi would tump dung smaddy so mi hope mi nuh have to experience that as a mother but if i had to i would remove my child from the school. the last thing i want is to go into my child's room and find her dead
mi nuh understand why nuhbaddy never tell the children that suicide didnt have to be the only option
what i find is that kids lack the skills to deal with issues of bullying.
what i mean by that is:
if they are the bully...they will bully until they are taught the consequences of said actions.
if they are the bullied...they will be the bullied, <span style="text-decoration: underline">where ever they go</span>, until they are taught how to deal with bullies.
if they are voyeur of bullying...they will always watch...until they are taught that they can "do something" without having to "get directly involved".
we start the 3 part bullying awareness program in 1st grade. we also teach that the older (to be translated for school aged kids: higher in grade) you get..the more severe the consequences for your actions (or inaction).
My kid was about 6 I think and he was being picked on by some bigger kids during recess. At first he didn't tell me so I can't say how long it had been going on. I started noticing some signs and so he finally told me what was going on.
I called the school spoke to his teacher who said she would talk to the playground monitor.
I followed up (after talking to my son) and they told me that they'd seen no sign. My son said he was not the only one being picked on - a few other boys from the first grade were being targeted.
The teachers did nothing. The monitors did nothing.
UNTIL.
The older kids one day pushed him and he pushed back. He hit the kid and the kid went crying to the teacher ( I think it was a fifth grader). They called me in and told me that they were going to suspend my son because BULLYING IS NOT TOLERATED! And on top of that, they were going to put an entry into his file that would be there up until he leaves school.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CyberPhobic</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi hood'n tekk my pickney outta school. Mi wooda demand dat di bullies were removed before di nexx school day stawt doe or a hell and powda house. </div></div>
Sometime yuh can demand til yuh blue - it's not gonna happen. Sometimes (as I have seen) the parents of the bully are significant contributors to the school and thus administrators tend to look the other way or downplay the incidences...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Juss_ILP_Again</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what i find is that kids lack the skills to deal with issues of bullying.
what i mean by that is:
if they are the bully...they will bully until they are taught the consequences of said actions.
if they are the bullied...they will be the bullied, <span style="text-decoration: underline">where ever they go</span>, until they are taught how to deal with bullies.
if they are voyeur of bullying...they will always watch...until they are taught that they can "do something" without having to "get directly involved".
We have to take into consideration the emotional and psychological make up of the child.
My kid for example, was not much of a talker. And he will put up with and put up with until he snaps. Jus like im granmadda...
So yeah, I used to talk to him about being a bully (in case he was so inclined.) I spoke with him about sticking up for other kids who were being bullied (even if the bully was bigger than he is). And I talked to him about talking to the teachers if he was being bullied.
This was the part I had a problem with. Cause I know he wasn't going to talk to a teacher about it. He didn't even want to talk to me about it.
And I also know that he would let his rage build up until he 'reacts'. This was always my fear.
That and the fact that he was the only black male child in the school could be very detrimental...
dawling..mi notice you neva include di rest of wah mi write out, how come?
of course age (social and emotional) must tek into consideration.
which is why my jurisdiction stawt dem tings in grade 1 for everyone.
You're absolutely right! Awareness and education regarding bullying and all its consequences should be taught at the earliest opportunity.
I like that your district starts the process from the first grade. Here, it starts from they are in kindergarten.
As for me, it starts from the time I told him that no-one but no-one is allowed to touch him there... I figure if he's old enough to know and distinguish good touches from bad, he's old enough to know whether it's ok to hurt another person or tolerate another person hurting him or to watch another person hurt someone else.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.