PGD.
OMG
Re: OMG
I saw something on Discovery Channel last night that blew my mind – blew it all the way out.
I have to wonder – is there some mental issue going on with these peeps?
I’d heard of pgd before but never knew there were people out there like this.
So the show profiled 4 women – 3 from England and 1 from Albany NY.
All were married with happy healthy children.
These women want a girl child.
All were either 41 or 42 years old.
I forget their names but:
A. 41 yrs old with 4 boys - English
B. 41 yrs old with 4 boys - English
C. 42 yrs old with 4 boys - American from NY
D. 42yrs old with 8 boys – yes eight flippin’ boys – English
All of the women were desperate to have a girl and were trying to use PGD to have one. The show followed their lives thru the process.
Woman # 1 used PDG and got pregnant. She was about 4 or 5 months along and the show followed her to her dr’s appt for a sonogram and to determine the sex of the baby. Her husband was on the chair next to her, squeezing her hand in support. When the wand rolled over her belly and the screen came into focus, the dr told her it was a boy. She bust out crying like a refugee and her husband hugged her. I felt for her – deeply. She was gravely sad but said she’ll move on and that she was glad she had her boys at home but that she would always have a bit of sadness in her heart for the girl she didn’t and couldn’t have. The film maker asked if she’d try again. She said after 2 attempts, they had no money left and that they were barely keeping it together at the end of the month as it is.
Woman #2 was a very wealthy woman. She tried PGD and had twin girls. It seems that all she does is throw parties for them and go shopping for pink shoes. They girls are now 6 years old. She got married to her partner of 19 years, just 1 year ago. She said she refused to marry him until he gave her daughters. !!!!!
I was furious with woman #3 – she seemed a bit cold – and she seemed too tightly wound. She and her husband went thru 2 tries. This 3rd was their last. The took 12 of her eggs. Were able to fertilize 8, the dr told her. “That’s great news!” hubby said. Her response was bad, to me anyway. “Well that’s actually really only 4 – we have to look at it like we’re only working with 4 eggs because half of them could be boys!”
So they wait 1 week for the process to determine the sex of the embryos. A week later they get the call that 3 are female. They implant 1 and discard the balance!!!!
They wait 9 more days to see if she’s pregnant. Cameras follow her home – in the bathroom, she does the test.
She and hubby stand over it while the color changes.
“It’s negative”, she says – and starts to sorrowfully moan and cry. I wanted to slap her. I found myself angry at her.
Woman #4 – I can’t even get into that one.
<span style="font-style: italic">Even bankruptcy?</span>
If you can't make do with 8 kids, 5 kids, etc - settin' wrang wid yuh bad bad ...
I totally totally understand primal urges. Especially for children. I totally get people with no kids who move heaven and earth to have one.
Just seems really self centered and selfish - a bit off in the head - to go thru all this, to have a girl - ESPECIALLY when you have so MANY children already. It's not like your desperate to have one.
And you could see the strain in almost all the marriages in the show. 3 definitely were buckling - the wealthy woman, you couldn't tell because the husband chose to stay off the program.
I'd forgotten to mention - she's been trying for 21 years to have a girl.
Some of it here ...
<span style="font-size: 17pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">8 Boys and Wanting a Girl
</span></span>
What do you do if you really want to have a girl and you just keep on having boys? Keep trying, like the Bowens have, for 21 years? Forty three year old Wendy Bowen has eight boys and is still desperate for her dream girl, and her biological clock ticking has turned it into an obsession. She's not alone though, across Britain there are women like Wendy who suffer from a psychological condition called 'Gender Disappointment'.
Michelle Priestley, from Bedford, loves all things girly and feminine. She never imagined herself as a mum of four boys. She
loves her children dearly but at 37, is getting desperate for a daughter. Michelle has persuaded husband Jason to give it one last try for a girl. There is a growing online community of parents using the internet to research ways of swaying the sex of their baby. Michelle is a regular visitor to an American website and has followed some fairly unusual natural gender swaying methods from it, such as dietary supplements, herbal extracts, and timing sex for a particular day. During the build up to the day of her scan for her fifth child, tensions are running high. Michelle's anxiety is getting to her and her family. The cameras are with her when she finds out if she's finally going to have that longed for daughter.
In Plymouth, 40 year old Nicola Trathen, decided six years ago that enough was enough after her fourth boy was born. She had heard of a way of choosing the sex of a child through a method called PGD (Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis), similar to IVF but the sex of the fertilised egg is determined and selected to implant into the mother accordingly. Gender selection, as Nicola was to find out, is not available in the UK for 'family balancing'. Legislators state that the social reasons are not strong enough. There are also concerns that without this ban, designer babies could become a huge market, and internationally it could exacerbate pre-existing social tendencies to favour sons. Nicola does not agree and went abroad for the treatment. She gave birth twin girls who are now six and feels they have completed her perfect family. Throughout America, PGD is legal and fertility clinics offer the treatment widely. Forty one year old Allyson Burns from New
York has chosen to use PGD to help her have the daughter she's been trying for, for the last 16 years. She says she is blessed with four boys but feels there is something missing. This is her third and final attempt, having already spent $20,000 on previous treatment. PGD is not an easy option. It's an expensive, emotional rollercoaster and there are no guarantees. The filmmakers follow Allyson through the treatment to the nerve-wracking day of her pregnancy test. Will she finally get the baby girl she has longed for?
How about 14 girls and wanting a boy?
Don't know how true this is, heard that a Chinese man went for vasectomy...just about when the surgery was to start, he sat up and told the doctor that he changed his mind, and that he was going home..
the doctor after much discussion, respected his wishes and said "okay.." he is free to make any choice and free to go.
<span style="font-weight: bold">
A year later</span> he was back for the same procedure...when he was asked why, after he said he didn't want it the last time, he replied that he had tried again for a boy and now he has 15 girls and that was enough..
I'm sure this didn't happen in China where they are anti girls..
they must not have morning sickness or ne other pesky pregnancy symptoms like low sex drive or vomiting after sex
i know adoption can be a hard process and its not the same as having ur own but still...if u want one likkle girl fi dress up inna pink and have tea party wid dat bad why not adopt one? or foster? or volunteer at some children cottage or sinting. dam a so dem love breeed. no sah as much as mi desperately hoping and praying fi a girl mi nah turn no recreational breeder
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vegas</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they must not have morning sickness or ne other pesky pregnancy symptoms like low sex drive or vomiting after sex
i know adoption can be a hard process and its not the same as having ur own but still...if u want one likkle girl fi dress up inna pink and have tea party wid dat bad why not adopt one? or foster? or volunteer at some children cottage or sinting. dam a so dem love breeed. no sah as much as mi desperately hoping and praying fi a girl mi nah turn no <span style="font-weight: bold">recreational breeder</span></div></div>
a dead ...tek time wid mi