<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What age/grade is the no tv on school nights reasonable? Is 5 too young (or mi being wicked?)
How soon should he walk to and from school by himself?
some other things ... mi too tired fi write them right now </div></div>
u wicked
well Bre 11 and mi noh mek she go wait fe the school bus by herself
Skells he started Kindergarten at 4 so now at 5 he is in Grade 1 French Immersion.
Sweets whe mi wicked with.. mi live across the road from the school and when mi was fi him age mi was walking to basic school by miself and it was farther than this u think him fi watch tv?
u nuh me realise seh in this parenting thing everybody have a different opinion/perspective.
is like the woman down the street from Jordan let her children roam round the development unattended (her youngest is 7) because is suh she did grow up....and she believe seh them must be free and independent and doan believe in the american way of hovering over them .
i don't do it with mine because i know that my youngest have hard ears and will probably all end outside the development walking on the road.
suh do what u think is best based on your experiences and your child...but i don't think that an hour or so of tv will be we the end of the world. but maybe agree with Adale beforehand as to what him favourite show is and what him gwine watch, so that him dont think is unlimited.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What age/grade is the no tv on school nights reasonable? Is 5 too young (or mi being wicked?)
How soon should he walk to and from school by himself?
some other things ... mi too tired fi write them right now </div></div>
there was 10 of us, of which 7 of us lived in the house at the same time. we were allowed 1 hour a week (period) of tv. so we had all kind of schemes/plans on how to decide what to watch.
the weeks when i traded my tv (time/decision) for jax was and decision by consensus did always pop-dung
as for the walking to school...i walked from as early as i can remember, but i was always with another sibling or another group of kids.
Twiney this is not Jamaica
and u jus have to take your eyes off your child for a nano second and some one can snatch him
Bre begged me to make her go to the bus stop by herself and I told her no cause she has to go out there and stand and wait
she gets off the bus by herself and jus walk inside
well he is going to FI so it is good to let him watch French cartoons maybe and hour a night
the sooner children learn to be self-reliant, the better for them in the long-run. read an article recently that a lot of kids are starting university with a lot of anxiety because they were not used to fending for themselves, their parents are always with them. in fact some universities and banning parents from orientation.
my kids went to babysitters and I think she walked them to school until they were int Grade one. as of Grade two, they went to school in groups by themselves.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the sooner children learn to be self-reliant, the better for them in the long-run. read an article recently that a lot of kids are starting university with a lot of anxiety because they were not used to fending for themselves, their parents are always with them. in fact some universities and banning parents from orientation.
my kids went to babysitters and I think she walked them to school until they were int Grade one. as of Grade two, they went to school in groups by themselves.
you are right. children are mostly too coddled in every aspect of their lives. the young people (especially the summer help here) are way out of touch with reality.
Twiney - what I do re: TV - is as long as homework etc. is done then I allow her to watch TV until 1/2 hour before bedtime - then she can read until bedtime.
Most times she has so much homework she nuh done till way after bedtime and I feel so sorry for her...
There is no right and wrong parenting yaah - you just do what you think is best for you and your child.
I am wit Sweets - re: the walking to school - even when she outside our house mi keep an eye on her and she is almost 12 - too many dam perverts ah watch yuh pikni along wid yuh... she nuh go nuhweh by harself and does not stay at home alone eeither.
likkelgen nuh watch tv during the week period suh when summer come yuh waan see di likkel wretch a try ketch up pan all her show dem
she juss turn 10 and she not allowed to go anywhere by herself or to stay home by herself, everyone in my family is aware of that little clause when she is with them.
Merka too big fi mi guh tun upside dung every stone a look fi mi pikney and dese predators don't work cause dem have criminal record, suh dem have all day fi tan up outside yuh pikney school, playgrung and yard a record evryting
I don't know when mi a guh mek she guh nuhweh by herself
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
likkelgen nuh watch tv during the week period suh when summer come yuh waan see di likkel wretch a try ketch up pan all her show dem :
she juss turn 10 and she not allowed to go anywhere by herself or to stay home by herself, everyone in my family is aware of that little clause when she is with them.
Merka too big fi mi guh tun upside dung every stone a look fi mi pikney and dese predators don't work cause dem have criminal record, suh dem have all day fi tan up outside yuh pikney school, playgrung and yard a record evryting : </div></div>
Madeleine McCann disappeared on the evening of Thursday, 3 May 2007, while on holiday with her parents and twin siblings in the Algarve region of Portugal. The British girl went missing from an apartment, in the central area of the resort of Praia da Luz, a few days before her fourth birthday, and has still not been found. Madeleine's parents, Kate and Gerry McCann, have said that they left the children unsupervised in a ground floor bedroom while they ate at a restaurant about 130 yards (120 metres) away.[1]
The initial investigation by the Polícia Judiciária (PJ), the Portuguese criminal investigation police, was based on the assumption that she had been abducted.[2] After further investigation, the PJ stated that there was a strong hypothesis that she might have died in her room.[3][4] During the investigation there were a number of unconfirmed claimed sightings of Madeleine in Portugal and elsewhere, and additional scientific evidence was obtained. The investigation involved the co-operation of the British and Portuguese police and demonstrated the differing methodologies employed by each, with regard to such aspects as the amount of information released to the public and the legal status of those involved in the case.[5][6]
Robert Murat, a local resident, was given arguido (suspect) status on 15 May 2007.[7][8] Kate and Gerry McCann were also named as arguidos on 7 September, but were allowed to fly back to the United Kingdom on 9 September.[9][10][11] All three were cleared, with their arguido status lifted, on 21 July 2008. The Portuguese Attorney General archived the case, also on 21 July, but the case can be reopened if new evidence emerges.[12]
The disappearance and its aftermath were notable for the breadth and longevity of the media coverage. This was initially due to the active involvement of the parents in publicising the case and to several awareness-raising campaigns by international celebrities and, latterly, to the interest that arose from the parents being named as suspects. The event generated international media attention with controversy surrounding the Portuguese-led police investigation and the actions of Madeleine's parents. There has also been criticism of the extent and nature of the publicity and of the reporting of the disappearance in both the Portuguese and British media.
when i was a child growing up in the country, adults did not have time to escort children to school, so they equipped us the following ways:
1. stories of black heart man so u didn't talk to strangers
2. duppy stories so u got home before dark
3. age groupings - u travelled with a pack of cousins, siblings, friends, etc., u didn't walk alone
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.