what does the red string signify.....is it a form of adornment.....anyway CB or Kia soon come give yu dem opinion....am getting a pedi right now and me feel too chillax to even penny this
Hinduism
In Hindu tradition, sacred red string bracelets are known as "kalava" or "mauli," which translates to "above all." Stephen Knapp, author of the ebook "Basic Points About Vedic Culture/Hinduism: A Short Introduction," notes that the kalava is tied onto a man's right wrist and a woman's left wrist at the beginning of a ceremony. It is worn for and symbolizes blessings to the wearer. It also can be used in different rituals of worship (or "puja" to Hindu deities, and can be considered as goodwill to a person who offers it to another. The thread can be referred to as "raksha" or "rakhi" in a ceremony where a sister ties it onto her brother's wrist. The brother wears it as a sign of his sister's love and wishes for protection.
Does it hurt them to wear it? Granny is sharing her culture with them and in this multicultural world hinduism is recognized as a 'safe' religion (as opposed to satanism) so mi would low the girls to wear it till dem ready to tear it off on their own.
The bigger question is why is it making you angry? and to help let go of the anger skells
I am not angry...I am just offended...they are her grandchildren but they are my (and her son's) kids....we both agreed to raise them as christians...they were baptized into our religion....it is cool if they are older and are curious about their elders' religion...but i feel as if she is forcing their beliefs on them little by little...
it is different if she educated them but the little things she has been doing lately kinda mekking mi grow wary...Sar has been talking about their culture alot recently...one day she came home wid a dot in her farrid a tawk bout she a indian...and now this...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If they are spending a lot if time there then yes they will be exposed to all aspects of the culture
I say let it go, it really not worth hotting up yuh head over it, dem still too young to even know what granny a chat bout.
If she start give them animal blood to drink then yuh have my blessing to tump her dung </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If they are spending a lot if time there then yes they will be exposed to all aspects of the culture
I say let it go, it really not worth hotting up yuh head over it, dem still too young to even know what granny a chat bout.
If she start give them animal blood to drink then yuh have my blessing to tump her dung </div></div>
and @ animal blood </div></div>
ditto
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.