Paternity Puzzle - A fling that went too far
Today, we continue with one of our latest and perhaps most buzz-worthy feature, Paternity Puzzle. The feature will attempt to help families solve paternity disputes. Every Wednesday, we will publish the story of a mother and an alleged father, who will both give their sides in tales of allegations and denials.
Be sure to follow the series as THE STAR awards a free DNA test sponsored by Caribbean Genetics. Each month, one of the four cases published will get a free test and reveal the truth once and for all.
PAULA GORDON, STAR Writer
The air was tense when THE STAR met with David Bernard and Michelle Moodylast week Monday to continue our quest in finding the winner of our Paternity Puzzle competition.
From the look of things both have been carrying feelings of hatred inside them for a very long time.
David, a construction worker, and Michelle, a practical nurse, met each other in 2003 in Washington Gardens, St Andrew.
They were together for four months when Michelle got pregnant. She had a daughter, who is now six years old. But things are not good between the couple and David has requested a DNA test. When they came to the offices of The Gleaner company it was difficult to prevent them from unleashing their anger for each other.
They launched verbal assaults on each other and countered each other's arguments in full view of THE STAR.
So how did it get so bad?
She said: "It wasn't really a relationship. I would call it pure sexual."
Additionally she said David has been obsessed with her since she broke up with him. She said she despises him and feels like he is the worst mistake she has ever made in her life. "I lowered my status," she remarked.
He said: "She come and said she was pregnant. We couldn't get along during the pregnancy. When she was about four months she do a ultra sound and say that the doctor say them hear two heartbeats and say she was having twin. A next day she come back and say ano twin."
She said: "Mi did just tell him say me pregnant, I neva say to him say is his child."
He said: "She say I wasn't there for her during the pregnancy so mussi dats why she gi a next man di child."
She said: "Honestly, I don't know when I got pregnant. I broke off with David couple weeks before I met the next man. Mi just gwaan wid me life cause mi neva wah have nutting fi do with him."
He said: "Me and har dissolve because she no honest. She have somebody else with me, mi have proof of it. Mi know the guy she was with, the guy confirm it."
She said: "I had my child in January 2005, and the guy I was with accepted the child as his. Even though he had doubts in the back of his head, he went ahead and signed the birth certificate."
He said: "I know the child is mine, but she tell me it was a next man child, a policeman child. Since the child was born in 2005 is February 19 since mi have access to har. I took her to the Family Court cause I know the child is mine."
David explained that the court told him that he would have to do a DNA test to know if the child is his before he can be granted legal access to the child.
On the other hand, Michelle reasoned that she decided to grant David some amount of access based on the encouragement of a friend who told her that the child looks like him.
She said: "I found out that she (child) had a rare syndrome...She has small bumps under her skin and a friend say to me say yuh know say Dave have the same thing. Another friend always say to me say, yuh know say she look like Dave, but because I despise him so much I always deny it."
He said: "Mi grandmother pass her (child), my mother pass her and the rest of my family. I want the test to prove the child is mine so I can take care of har as a father. Mi still haffi do wha me haffi do. She is asking for contributions towards the child, and I have been trying my best."
She said: "A six years me a do this for, if me did want yuh do anything me would a tell yuh from long time. A one time since him start see the child me tell him say she have a school trip, and she didn't even go again, yuh too lie."
He said: "She come in front my face and tell me say she need help with the child."
Michelle believes that David doesn't want to let go and just won't accept that the relationship has ended.
She said: "Him nuh understand that I have moved on with my life so till I have two more children. David will just pop up at my gate. It was just a fling and the fling just got out of hand, that's all."
He said: "Ano like me a look har back or anything."
He further explained that he goes to the gate because he is not welcomed at her house and she told him he could come to the gate to see the child.
Michelle says David is not welcome at the house because her stepfather told him not to come there after he was seen peeping in the house on several occasions.
She said: "This man even go as far as to tell my stepfather that him give me money when I was pregnant. Dave the only thing yuh eva buy me was a burger and yuh did a act like yuh neva waa buy it."
He said: "Lie! When yuh pregnant me gi yuh $500 and buy grocery, me carry milk, cheese, soap and oats."
Michelle, who is now married to the father of her last child said, "My husband don't know anything about this, and I would like it to keep that way. It pain mi heart if him (David) a really the father cause me affi go deal with him for 18 more years."
*Names changed
SPONSORED By
For more info on DNA testing, contact: Caribbean Genetics
1- 888-DNA TEST begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 888-DNA TEST end_of_the_skype_highlighting, 935-8791, 977-4342, Fax 876-977-7852
www.caribbeangenetics.com/sales@ caribbeangenetics.com
Today, we continue with one of our latest and perhaps most buzz-worthy feature, Paternity Puzzle. The feature will attempt to help families solve paternity disputes. Every Wednesday, we will publish the story of a mother and an alleged father, who will both give their sides in tales of allegations and denials.
Be sure to follow the series as THE STAR awards a free DNA test sponsored by Caribbean Genetics. Each month, one of the four cases published will get a free test and reveal the truth once and for all.
PAULA GORDON, STAR Writer
The air was tense when THE STAR met with David Bernard and Michelle Moodylast week Monday to continue our quest in finding the winner of our Paternity Puzzle competition.
From the look of things both have been carrying feelings of hatred inside them for a very long time.
David, a construction worker, and Michelle, a practical nurse, met each other in 2003 in Washington Gardens, St Andrew.
They were together for four months when Michelle got pregnant. She had a daughter, who is now six years old. But things are not good between the couple and David has requested a DNA test. When they came to the offices of The Gleaner company it was difficult to prevent them from unleashing their anger for each other.
They launched verbal assaults on each other and countered each other's arguments in full view of THE STAR.
So how did it get so bad?
She said: "It wasn't really a relationship. I would call it pure sexual."
Additionally she said David has been obsessed with her since she broke up with him. She said she despises him and feels like he is the worst mistake she has ever made in her life. "I lowered my status," she remarked.
He said: "She come and said she was pregnant. We couldn't get along during the pregnancy. When she was about four months she do a ultra sound and say that the doctor say them hear two heartbeats and say she was having twin. A next day she come back and say ano twin."
She said: "Mi did just tell him say me pregnant, I neva say to him say is his child."
He said: "She say I wasn't there for her during the pregnancy so mussi dats why she gi a next man di child."
She said: "Honestly, I don't know when I got pregnant. I broke off with David couple weeks before I met the next man. Mi just gwaan wid me life cause mi neva wah have nutting fi do with him."
He said: "Me and har dissolve because she no honest. She have somebody else with me, mi have proof of it. Mi know the guy she was with, the guy confirm it."
She said: "I had my child in January 2005, and the guy I was with accepted the child as his. Even though he had doubts in the back of his head, he went ahead and signed the birth certificate."
He said: "I know the child is mine, but she tell me it was a next man child, a policeman child. Since the child was born in 2005 is February 19 since mi have access to har. I took her to the Family Court cause I know the child is mine."
David explained that the court told him that he would have to do a DNA test to know if the child is his before he can be granted legal access to the child.
On the other hand, Michelle reasoned that she decided to grant David some amount of access based on the encouragement of a friend who told her that the child looks like him.
She said: "I found out that she (child) had a rare syndrome...She has small bumps under her skin and a friend say to me say yuh know say Dave have the same thing. Another friend always say to me say, yuh know say she look like Dave, but because I despise him so much I always deny it."
He said: "Mi grandmother pass her (child), my mother pass her and the rest of my family. I want the test to prove the child is mine so I can take care of har as a father. Mi still haffi do wha me haffi do. She is asking for contributions towards the child, and I have been trying my best."
She said: "A six years me a do this for, if me did want yuh do anything me would a tell yuh from long time. A one time since him start see the child me tell him say she have a school trip, and she didn't even go again, yuh too lie."
He said: "She come in front my face and tell me say she need help with the child."
Michelle believes that David doesn't want to let go and just won't accept that the relationship has ended.
She said: "Him nuh understand that I have moved on with my life so till I have two more children. David will just pop up at my gate. It was just a fling and the fling just got out of hand, that's all."
He said: "Ano like me a look har back or anything."
He further explained that he goes to the gate because he is not welcomed at her house and she told him he could come to the gate to see the child.
Michelle says David is not welcome at the house because her stepfather told him not to come there after he was seen peeping in the house on several occasions.
She said: "This man even go as far as to tell my stepfather that him give me money when I was pregnant. Dave the only thing yuh eva buy me was a burger and yuh did a act like yuh neva waa buy it."
He said: "Lie! When yuh pregnant me gi yuh $500 and buy grocery, me carry milk, cheese, soap and oats."
Michelle, who is now married to the father of her last child said, "My husband don't know anything about this, and I would like it to keep that way. It pain mi heart if him (David) a really the father cause me affi go deal with him for 18 more years."
*Names changed
SPONSORED By
For more info on DNA testing, contact: Caribbean Genetics
1- 888-DNA TEST begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 888-DNA TEST end_of_the_skype_highlighting, 935-8791, 977-4342, Fax 876-977-7852
www.caribbeangenetics.com/sales@ caribbeangenetics.com